![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Always Listen To bob ...
Quote:
Now back to the real question: 48) With four minutes remaining in the quarter, A-1, in the backcourt, throws a pass toward A-5 in the frontcourt. The pass hits the ring and rebounds untouched back to A-1 in the backcourt. The officials allow play to continue. Is this correct? 2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) the team’s own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 4-15-2; Fundamental 19) If A1’s pass hits the backboard, it’s considered a try (2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation), ending team control, thus no backcourt violation. However, the question says ring, not backboard. Is the ball touching the ring the same as the ball touching the backboard? I believe that we've moved from the realm of facts to opinions, purpose, and intent, so I will be pleased to accept educated opinions. Right now I’m leaning toward: 48) Yes. Legal play.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 02, 2022 at 01:51pm. |
|
|||
|
Touching the ring and touching the backboard are mostly similar, but there are at least 2 situations where there is a difference. Touching the ring makes a missed free throw attempt legal, not touching the backboard. A freethrow touching the backboard does release players outside marked lane spaces to attempt to recover the rebound. In games with a shot clock, a try striking the ring resets the shot clock. A ball striking the backboard does not.
|
|
|||
|
Purpose And Intent ...
Quote:
Agree that there are rule differences between the basket and the backboard, and they are not often interchangeable. But in certain situations, as in my two exam questions, doesn't purpose and intent carry any weight? Do you have an educated opinion to offer on one, of both, of my backboard/basket team/opponent exam questions?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 02, 2022 at 03:36pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt or Not? | OKREF | Basketball | 11 | Wed Dec 06, 2017 07:14pm |
| Backcourt or not? | slow whistle | Basketball | 32 | Fri Nov 14, 2008 05:56pm |
| Backcourt | tjones1 | Basketball | 6 | Fri Oct 31, 2008 06:23pm |
| Backcourt | Laker D | Basketball | 14 | Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am |
| Backcourt or not Backcourt?? | easygoer | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm |