The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2023, 05:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Player A1 has the ball near the mid court line in team A's BC. A1 attempts to make a pass to A2 in the FC but the ball slips out of his hand and bounces in the FC, after which A1 grabs the ball.

BC?

Does the 10 sec count stop?

Continue 10 sec count?

Start a new 10 sec count?

Nothing?
Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble. As you have stated that the ball slipped out of A1’s hand, this meets the definition of a fumble and the play violates 9-9-2.
The 10 second count does cease when the ball strikes the floor in the front court for the same reason above—this is not a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2023, 09:49am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Three Legs Of A Stool ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble ...
... thus 4-4-6 does not come into play.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 24, 2023, 11:38am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes, this is a BC violation as the action was not a dribble. As you have stated that the ball slipped out of A1’s hand, this meets the definition of a fumble and the play violates 9-9-2.
The 10 second count does cease when the ball strikes the floor in the front court for the same reason above—this is not a dribble.

I agree with everything you said except the 10 Second Count. Once the fumbled Ball touched in Team A's Front Court the 10 Second ended.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1