The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2020, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
A little off topic, but would like a confirmation. If A1 has ended dribble with both hands. Throws ball at opponents foot intentionally and recovers the ball after contact on B2. Can A1 still dribble? Does that qualify as a pass that was in contact with an opponent?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2020, 07:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltonsi View Post
A little off topic, but would like a confirmation. If A1 has ended dribble with both hands. Throws ball at opponents foot intentionally and recovers the ball after contact on B2. Can A1 still dribble? Does that qualify as a pass that was in contact with an opponent?
Yes. 9-5-3

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 08:49am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltonsi View Post
Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.
What or where is your reference from?

Rule 9-5-3 directly contradicts what you just posted. Billy posted 9-5-3 above. The case book also directly contradicts what you posted.


9.5.3 SITUATION:

A1 is dribbling in backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again.

RULING: No violation. When A1's pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Mar 03, 2020 at 08:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 12:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Nice ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
9.5.3 SITUATION:
A1 is dribbling in backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again.
RULING: No violation. When A1's pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.
Nice citation Raymond. Thanks.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What or where is your reference from?

Rule 9-5-3 directly contradicts what you just posted. Billy posted 9-5-3 above. The case book also directly contradicts what you posted.


9.5.3 SITUATION:

A1 is dribbling in backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again.

RULING: No violation. When A1's pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.
While I basically agree I would add that they are not exactly the same play. One involves a pass while the other does not. Probably comes down to semantics but perhaps that FIBA case play was meant to implicate that.

Is there another FIBA case that describes a deflected (by the defense) pass that is retrieved by the passer and dribbling is allowed?

(Pretty odd FIBA case. Consider a pass from A1 that hits an outstretched hand of the defender. The defender had is hand in the position before the ball was thrown. Since the ball hit the hand and not vice versa, can A1 not retrieve and begin dribbling? Have fun selling that call)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
While I basically agree I would add that they are not exactly the same play. One involves a pass while the other does not. Probably comes down to semantics but perhaps that FIBA case play was meant to implicate that.

Is there another FIBA case that describes a deflected (by the defense) pass that is retrieved by the passer and dribbling is allowed?

(Pretty odd FIBA case. Consider a pass from A1 that hits an outstretched hand of the defender. The defender had is hand in the position before the ball was thrown. Since the ball hit the hand and not vice versa, can A1 not retrieve and begin dribbling? Have fun selling that call)
I cannot find another case which describes a deflection. But we have always allowed a new dribble after a deflection with a deflection signal. I agree with you that both cases are not exactly the same. It's a judgement on the player's intention.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltonsi View Post
Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.
That must be a FIBA interp.

Does FIBA allow this type of play on a throw-in? It would seem to me that the interp should be the same (or follow the same logic).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 01:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That must be a FIBA interp.


FIBA 24-7 Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again. Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.

Metric "semantics" rules.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 03, 2020 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Thanks BillyMac. Yes FIBA.

https://www.fiba.basketball/rules/interpretations.pdf

Guess I learned another different interpretation between FIBA and Federation.

Last edited by eltonsi; Tue Mar 03, 2020 at 02:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 02:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
As God Intended ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eltonsi View Post
Guess I learned another different interpretation between FIBA and Federation.
Makes me glad that I only officiate high school games, only in the United States, only in Connecticut, only in my little corner of Connecticut, and only under one set of rules, NFHS rules, as God intended.

Extra bonus, because I officiate in Connecticut, almost all of my games are two person games.

Me learn alternate rule sets, interpretations, and mechanics?

Where are my car keys?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 03, 2020 at 03:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 03, 2020, 12:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Just When We Thought We Had It All Figured Out ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eltonsi View Post
24-7 Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again. Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 03, 2020 at 12:54pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal dribble or not? The R Basketball 2 Mon Dec 02, 2013 06:35pm
Illegal Dribble? Mingram Basketball 2 Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:52pm
Illegal dribble or not? johnsonboys03 Basketball 6 Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:05pm
Illegal dribble? just another ref Basketball 96 Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1