![]() |
|
|
|||
That's probably how most of us have officiated it, but it's not what the rule book says.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Listen (Chicago Transit Authority, 1968) …
Bingo.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. It is called an "interrupted dribble" based on what was happening (player was dribbling) not based on what is currently happening. Ball can hit teammate and original dribbler can retrieve and dribble.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
|
|||
Because Of A Touch By An Opponent ...
Agree.
But in this situation the loss of player control was not "because of a touch by an opponent", as required by rule. In this situation the loss of player control during the interrupted dribble was because of the ball handler's own ineptitude (maybe the dribbled ball hit off his foot). The "another player" part of the rule isn't relevant because there was no pass, nor was there a fumble, in this situation. Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 01, 2020 at 01:48pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
|
|||
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1 ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However, the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count continues. (9-5-2)
9-5-2: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A touch by an opponent.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 01, 2020 at 11:00am. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, it comes down to whether an interrupted dribble and a fumble are (or should be) treated the same in these situations. The definitions are nearly identical. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal dribble or not? | The R | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 02, 2013 06:35pm |
Illegal Dribble? | Mingram | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:52pm |
Illegal dribble or not? | johnsonboys03 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:05pm |
Illegal dribble? | just another ref | Basketball | 96 | Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am |
illegal dribble | elecref | Basketball | 22 | Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm |