The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 83
Double Technicals and Bonus FT

Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,577
You never shoot FTs for a double technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 10:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.
You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.
Not for NFHS. Double fouls that differ in severity still result in no FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 10:46am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,916
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Not for NFHS. Double fouls that differ in severity still result in no FTs.
NFHS 10-7-Penalties Summary
1. No free throws:
a. For each common foul before the bonus rule is in effect.
b. For a player-control or team-control foul.
c. For double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption).
d. For simultaneous personal or simultaneous technical fouls by
opponents (point of interruption).
e. After time has expired for the fourth quarter (or extra period),
unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game.
NOTE: If one or both fouls of a double foul are flagrant, no free throws
are awarded. Any player who commits a flagrant foul is disqualified.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

ďI was in prison and you came to visit me.Ē (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.
The bonus situation is never relevant for technical fouls. A singular T is 2 shots, always. A double T is 0 shots, always, go to POI.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.
For NFHS rules, SC Official is correct. In NCAA rules (both genders, slight terminology differences), Raymond is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.
Bonus situations are only for common fouls, so this rule would not apply to your situation.
You did not have common fouls and thus cannot award bonus FTs. Non-common fouls carry their own specific penalities. You stick with those.

Sadly, this concept isnít taught to many newer officials, which causes confusion and misapplication of the FT rules.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 28, 2019, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The bonus situation is never relevant for technical fouls. A singular T is 2 shots, always. A double T is 0 shots, always, go to POI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Bonus situations are only for common fouls, so this rule would not apply to your situation.
You did not have common fouls and thus cannot award bonus FTs. Non-common fouls carry their own specific penalities. You stick with those.

Sadly, this concept isnít taught to many newer officials, which causes confusion and misapplication of the FT rules.
I was going to raise similar points.

I can *almost* see the question (mainly because it gets asked a couple of times a year) if these were double personal fouls -- it seems "unfair" that the team that is in the bonus doesn't get to shoot its FTs.

But on a double tech.... the bonus has nothing to do with Ts.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2019, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.
Go to Rule 4, Section 19, Article 2. In there, a common foul is defined as a personal foul that is not intentional, flagrant, committed against a player in the act of shooting or part of a double, multiple, or simultaneous fouls. The reason behind this definition is that the other types of fouls have their own specific penalties.

Bonus free throws are only shot for common fouls when there are 7 or more fouls in a half. Double technical fouls do not meet the standard for common fouls because they are part of a double foul, and they are technical, not personal. Therefore one cannot shoot bonus free throws on double technical fouls. Only in a false double foul situation would there be free throws shot by both teams.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technicals, team fouls and bonus RefsNCoaches Basketball 14 Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:29am
Bonus not double bonus so cal lurker Basketball 97 Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:24pm
NBA Double Fouls & Technicals donj Basketball 6 Sun May 12, 2002 04:08pm
Double Technicals bainemc Basketball 6 Sat Feb 03, 2001 10:51pm
Technicals toward the 'bonus' Buckley Basketball 2 Sat Jan 08, 2000 03:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1