The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Technicals and Bonus FT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104772-double-technicals-bonus-ft.html)

rbruno Mon Oct 28, 2019 09:31am

Double Technicals and Bonus FT
 
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.

SC Official Mon Oct 28, 2019 09:36am

You never shoot FTs for a double technical foul.

Raymond Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1035067)
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.

You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.

SC Official Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1035069)
You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.

Not for NFHS. Double fouls that differ in severity still result in no FTs.

BillyMac Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:46am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1035070)
Not for NFHS. Double fouls that differ in severity still result in no FTs.

NFHS 10-7-Penalties Summary
1. No free throws:
a. For each common foul before the bonus rule is in effect.
b. For a player-control or team-control foul.
c. For double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption).
d. For simultaneous personal or simultaneous technical fouls by
opponents (point of interruption).
e. After time has expired for the fourth quarter (or extra period),
unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game.
NOTE: If one or both fouls of a double foul are flagrant, no free throws
are awarded. Any player who commits a flagrant foul is disqualified.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1035067)
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.

The bonus situation is never relevant for technical fouls. A singular T is 2 shots, always. A double T is 0 shots, always, go to POI.

ilyazhito Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1035069)
You do not shoot FTs on double fouls unless one of the 2 is flagrant or intentional. You report the fouls and put the ball in play at the POI.

For NFHS rules, SC Official is correct. In NCAA rules (both genders, slight terminology differences), Raymond is correct.

Nevadaref Mon Oct 28, 2019 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1035067)
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.

Bonus situations are only for common fouls, so this rule would not apply to your situation.
You did not have common fouls and thus cannot award bonus FTs. Non-common fouls carry their own specific penalities. You stick with those.

Sadly, this concept isnít taught to many newer officials, which causes confusion and misapplication of the FT rules.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 28, 2019 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1035073)
The bonus situation is never relevant for technical fouls. A singular T is 2 shots, always. A double T is 0 shots, always, go to POI.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1035084)
Bonus situations are only for common fouls, so this rule would not apply to your situation.
You did not have common fouls and thus cannot award bonus FTs. Non-common fouls carry their own specific penalities. You stick with those.

Sadly, this concept isnít taught to many newer officials, which causes confusion and misapplication of the FT rules.

I was going to raise similar points.

I can *almost* see the question (mainly because it gets asked a couple of times a year) if these were double personal fouls -- it seems "unfair" that the team that is in the bonus doesn't get to shoot its FTs.

But on a double tech.... the bonus has nothing to do with Ts.

ilyazhito Tue Oct 29, 2019 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 1035067)
Happened yesterday in an AAU HS level game. I called double techincals on players from each team. The table informs me that one of the teams is now in the bonus for FT. Do we allow one team to shoot the bonus FT or ignore and go back to the POI? NFHS rules.

Go to Rule 4, Section 19, Article 2. In there, a common foul is defined as a personal foul that is not intentional, flagrant, committed against a player in the act of shooting or part of a double, multiple, or simultaneous fouls. The reason behind this definition is that the other types of fouls have their own specific penalties.

Bonus free throws are only shot for common fouls when there are 7 or more fouls in a half. Double technical fouls do not meet the standard for common fouls because they are part of a double foul, and they are technical, not personal. Therefore one cannot shoot bonus free throws on double technical fouls. Only in a false double foul situation would there be free throws shot by both teams.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1