The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I can almost guarantee someone is going to answer your question with a question.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
True. Why can't people just answer a simple rules question? Oops, that was a question too. Maybe the poster is coach, a fan or a rec league ref without access to a rule book.

Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

So to answer to the OP, begin the 10 second count when the player gains control of the ball in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
True. Why can't people just answer a simple rules question? Oops, that was a question too. Maybe the poster is coach, a fan or a rec league ref without access to a rule book.

Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

So to answer to the OP, begin the 10 second count when the player gains control of the ball in the backcourt.
Simple rules question, huh?
Your answer is incorrect.
LMAO
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Incorrect?
Are you saying count would start when ball went into backcourt?
Ball was in the frontcourt and was knocked into backcourt by defender, why would you start 10 second count before ball was picked up in the backcourt?

Last edited by DrPete; Sat Jan 05, 2019 at 10:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:46pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Incorrect?
Are you saying count would start when ball went into backcourt?
Ball was in the frontcourt and was knocked into backcourt by defender, why would you start 10 second count before ball was picked up in the backcourt?
Who has team control? That answers your question.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
True. Why can't people just answer a simple rules question? Oops, that was a question too. Maybe the poster is coach, a fan or a rec league ref without access to a rule book.

Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

So to answer to the OP, begin the 10 second count when the player gains control of the ball in the backcourt.
That’s malpractice doc🙃. The count starts the moment the ball touches the BC.
Ps. I only answered the OP with a question because cross country “almost guaranteed” it. I wanted him to be right.😀
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Well at my age any day you learn something new is a good day. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpete View Post
well at my age any day you learn something new is a good day. Thanks guys.
👍
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
True. Why can't people just answer a simple rules question? Oops, that was a question too. Maybe the poster is coach, a fan or a rec league ref without access to a rule book.

Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

So to answer to the OP, begin the 10 second count when the player gains control of the ball in the backcourt.
Then qualify that, this is an official's forum, not a coach's or fan's forum.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher's Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications 2008

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2019, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)
Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

I am having an absolute brain freeze. Cortex won't work...except to type. On a throw-in to the BC, the count is not started until there is player control in the BC. What citation explains that the 10 second count is started with player control and not simply when the ball is in the BC? (b/c there is still team control during a throw-in)

Example: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in to the BC and the ball slowly rolls in the BC for 4 seconds without being touched. A2 gets the ball and the official begins the 10-second count. Why does the 10-second count not start when the ball is inbounds rolling untouched, after all Team A had team control?

I know the rule, just can't find where it is documented. Or does this fall under the reasoning that there is no documentation needed because TC on a throw-in only applies to foul situations? I just can't remember. Thought there was something specific.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2019, 01:32pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,454
Hey Girlfriend ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I know the rule, just can't find where it is documented.
Ask Alexa, or Siri. And then ask her to rub your back.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2019, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

I am having an absolute brain freeze. Cortex won't work...except to type. On a throw-in to the BC, the count is not started until there is player control in the BC. What citation explains that the 10 second count is started with player control and not simply when the ball is in the BC? (b/c there is still team control during a throw-in)

Example: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in to the BC and the ball slowly rolls in the BC for 4 seconds without being touched. A2 gets the ball and the official begins the 10-second count. Why does the 10-second count not start when the ball is inbounds rolling untouched, after all Team A had team control?

I know the rule, just can't find where it is documented. Or does this fall under the reasoning that there is no documentation needed because TC on a throw-in only applies to foul situations? I just can't remember. Thought there was something specific.
Your last point is the reason....there is only team control on a throwin for fouls. Real and full team control only begins when an inbounds player gains control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2019, 02:45pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Did a "veteran" official make a false claim about a shot clock reset situation and edit it? Just wondering if I am losing my mind because I just read up on it and at least in my state, he would be wrong. Proves my point that no matter how "basic" a rule should be, it is okay to discuss sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 06, 2019, 02:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,454
Hindsight Is 20/20 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Did a "veteran" official make a false claim about a shot clock reset situation and edit it?
Not a false claim, just an old situation that is no longer valid, making it confusing, which is why I deleted it.

Sorry if I confused anybody.

As the young'uns say, "My bad" (do they still say that?).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2019, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Your last point is the reason....there is only team control on a throwin for fouls. Real and full team control only begins when an inbounds player gains control.
I know this is correct, but where is the rule on team control on a throw-in only for fouls?
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When do you start the count Zoochy Basketball 7 Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:50am
When Does the 10 Second Count Start? Spence Basketball 4 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:45pm
when to start 10 second count BEAREF Basketball 25 Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:21pm
When Does the 10 Second Count Start FeetBallRef Basketball 9 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:00pm
10 second count, when does it start? mjbofficial Basketball 25 Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1