The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 12:57pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Ball thrown off backboard

Case play 9.5 makes it clear that it's legal to end your dribble, throw the ball off your own backboard, and then catch it.

I was asked today about this variation.

Player ends his dribble, throws the ball off his own backboard, the ball then bounces on the floor, and then the player recovers it.

Because the ball hit the floor, is the throw considered to be the start of another dribble? (The dribble begins by throwing or batting the ball to the floor. . .)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 01:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
What Happens Next ???

I have a love/hate relationship with this interpretation. 9.5 describes a legal situation that is not an illegal (double) dribble, but it doesn't tell us what can legally, or illegally, happen next. For example, can the ball be legally caught by the thrower? Some just call the throw a try and move on from there, but that can be debated.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: his/her own backboard. RULING: Legal. A team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Fundamental 19: A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same
as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s
backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Case play 9.5 makes it clear that it's legal to end your dribble, throw the ball off your own backboard, and then catch it.

I was asked today about this variation.

Player ends his dribble, throws the ball off his own backboard, the ball then bounces on the floor, and then the player recovers it.

Because the ball hit the floor, is the throw considered to be the start of another dribble? (The dribble begins by throwing or batting the ball to the floor. . .)
If the rule allows throwing the ball off your backboard after ending a dribble, that would be the same as ending a dribble and throwing it off the back of a teammate or opponent and starting a new dribble regardless if the player caught the ball in the air or let it bounce first, right? Go down to 9.5.3
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 05:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Backboard ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
If the rule allows throwing the ball off your backboard after ending a dribble, that would be the same as ending a dribble and throwing it off the back of a teammate or opponent and starting a new dribble regardless if the player caught the ball in the air or let it bounce first, right? Go down to 9.5.3


Is the backboard the same as another player? I don't see backboard listed in 9-5.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: his/her own backboard. RULING: Legal. A team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 03, 2018 at 11:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post


Is the backboard the same as another player? I don't see backboard listed in 9-5.

9.5.3 SITUATION: A1 is dribbling in backboard and ends the dribble, but defensive
pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1
recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again. RULING: No violation.
When A1’s pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a
new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
I think the rules makers are quite sure we know the distinction. Simply put, the rule (4-15-1) allows the player to use his/her backboard in the same legal manner as throwing the ball off any player (9.5.3). That's all many of us need to know or care to discuss.

Last edited by billyu2; Sun Dec 02, 2018 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2018, 12:13am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Citation Please ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Simply put, the rule (4-15-1) allows the player to use his/her backboard in the same legal manner as throwing the ball off any player ...
I don't believe that it's that simple. I see no rule, or interpretation, that states that the player may use a backboard in the same manner as throwing the ball off another player.

In fact, 9.5 SITUATION states that the backboard is "equipment" which is certainly not the same as a player. 9.5 SITUATION has always left a lot of questions unanswered.

Also, 9-5 is very clear in defining an illegal (double) dribble, with two exceptions that do not involve a try, with neither of these two legal exceptions mentioning the ball being thrown off a backboard, but rather, specifically referring to the ball touching other players, either teammates, or opponents, but no mention of backboard.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once
or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own
backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 03, 2018 at 12:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2018, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once
or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own
backboard.
People continue to use that dribble definition but it is not all inclusive/encompassing/complete. Recall that throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard is considered a dribble. Not entirely relevant to this post but again, let's not focus on just one part of a definition and think that is all there is to it. Officials, myself included, tend to do that too much.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2018, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Case play 9.5 makes it clear that it's legal to end your dribble, throw the ball off your own backboard, and then catch it.

I was asked today about this variation.

Player ends his dribble, throws the ball off his own backboard, the ball then bounces on the floor, and then the player recovers it.

Because the ball hit the floor, is the throw considered to be the start of another dribble? (The dribble begins by throwing or batting the ball to the floor. . .)
I vote "no."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball thrown to oneself off backboard - legal? bucky Basketball 34 Sun Jul 08, 2018 06:18pm
Ball thrown into Dead ball territory MASS F/B UMP Softball 11 Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
Free throw thrown off backboard latterdaysaint Basketball 16 Tue Feb 26, 2002 02:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1