View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 01:57pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
What Happens Next ???

I have a love/hate relationship with this interpretation. 9.5 describes a legal situation that is not an illegal (double) dribble, but it doesn't tell us what can legally, or illegally, happen next. For example, can the ball be legally caught by the thrower? Some just call the throw a try and move on from there, but that can be debated.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: his/her own backboard. RULING: Legal. A team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Fundamental 19: A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same
as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s
backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote