View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2018, 12:13am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Citation Please ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Simply put, the rule (4-15-1) allows the player to use his/her backboard in the same legal manner as throwing the ball off any player ...
I don't believe that it's that simple. I see no rule, or interpretation, that states that the player may use a backboard in the same manner as throwing the ball off another player.

In fact, 9.5 SITUATION states that the backboard is "equipment" which is certainly not the same as a player. 9.5 SITUATION has always left a lot of questions unanswered.

Also, 9-5 is very clear in defining an illegal (double) dribble, with two exceptions that do not involve a try, with neither of these two legal exceptions mentioning the ball being thrown off a backboard, but rather, specifically referring to the ball touching other players, either teammates, or opponents, but no mention of backboard.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once
or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own
backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 03, 2018 at 12:27am.
Reply With Quote