View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 05:01pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Case play 9.5 makes it clear that it's legal to end your dribble, throw the ball off your own backboard, and then catch it.

I was asked today about this variation.

Player ends his dribble, throws the ball off his own backboard, the ball then bounces on the floor, and then the player recovers it.

Because the ball hit the floor, is the throw considered to be the start of another dribble? (The dribble begins by throwing or batting the ball to the floor. . .)
If the rule allows throwing the ball off your backboard after ending a dribble, that would be the same as ending a dribble and throwing it off the back of a teammate or opponent and starting a new dribble regardless if the player caught the ball in the air or let it bounce first, right? Go down to 9.5.3
Reply With Quote