View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2018, 06:41pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post


Is the backboard the same as another player? I don't see backboard listed in 9-5.

9.5.3 SITUATION: A1 is dribbling in backboard and ends the dribble, but defensive
pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1
recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again. RULING: No violation.
When A1’s pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a
new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
I think the rules makers are quite sure we know the distinction. Simply put, the rule (4-15-1) allows the player to use his/her backboard in the same legal manner as throwing the ball off any player (9.5.3). That's all many of us need to know or care to discuss.

Last edited by billyu2; Sun Dec 02, 2018 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote