The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Post Basket at the wrong goal... should it count?

A1 is dribbling in her front court when she gets confused and dribbles across the half court line and makes a lay up at the wrong basket. The Trail official doesn't call over and back and the scorekeeper counts the basket. With the clock still running and before the throw in the Lead official calls time and asks the trail official about the "no call" and it's determined that there should have been an over and back call and the points were taken off the scoreboard and Team B received a throw in possession at the division line. Was it correct to remove points? Was it correct to stop the game and correct a "no call" over-and- back?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
Nope, too late.
Note that the case would be the same had the player traveled before putting the ball into the incorrect basket. It is too late to go back and call a violation that was missed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 08:31am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,609
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Seems an official, corrected an error, that's not a correctable error!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,360
Although the above are correct, depends on the level of play I would do things different. If it's a game with young kids maybe middle school or less would probably be my threshold. No way in a HS or higher game would i "correct" this.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2018, 11:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,024
Special Olympics Unified Games ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by acap View Post
A1 is dribbling in her front court when she gets confused and dribbles across the half court line and makes a lay up at the wrong basket. The Trail official doesn't call over and back and the scorekeeper counts the basket.
I had a partner (a great official) do this during a Special Olympics Unified Game a few years ago. I asked him why he (the trail) didn't call backcourt and he answered that he didn't want to embarrass the player with a backcourt call. The end result, a basket for the other team, turned out to be more embarrassing.

During Special Olympics Unified Games here in Connecticut we, as officials, are given a lot of leeway as to what we call, or don't call, based on the skill levels of the players involved, sometimes that "power" that can be problematic.

"No good deed goes unpunished." (Oscar Wilde)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 25, 2018 at 01:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2018, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 41
I had a player get confused in the 4th quarter of a close game with a minute to go or so and score at the wrong basket while getting fouled. They did win which was lucky for the player as it was two good teams and shows anything can happen.

Just remember if you have this, the whistle for the foul stops the play. So no And 1 if the shot has not gone in and basket waived off. Go shoot the bonus fts if you have them at the other end.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2018, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopicalTropical View Post
I had a player get confused in the 4th quarter of a close game with a minute to go or so and score at the wrong basket while getting fouled. They did win which was lucky for the player as it was two good teams and shows anything can happen.

Just remember if you have this, the whistle for the foul stops the play. So no And 1 if the shot has not gone in and basket waived off. Go shoot the bonus fts if you have them at the other end.
Very, very hard to do as the ball is dead on the foul.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2018, 02:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Sorry, I thought I had edited that to be more clear. Yes, I know the whistle stops the play and this was discussed in an earlier thread. You would count the basket if the foul occurs after the shot has gone in.

I did say this in the second part-

Just remember if you have this, the whistle for the foul stops the play. So no And 1 if the shot has not gone in and basket waived off. Go shoot the bonus fts if you have them at the other end.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2018, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopicalTropical View Post
Sorry, I thought I had edited that to be more clear. Yes, I know the whistle stops the play
...
I did say this in the second part-

Just remember if you have this, the whistle for the foul stops the play. So no And 1 if the shot has not gone in and basket waived off. Go shoot the bonus fts if you have them at the other end.
The truth be told, I should have read your post a bit farther and slower. I don't post on here often and now you see why.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
correctable error, over and back

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goal count or not? geoff.mayfield Basketball 15 Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:53am
right goal, wrong way Robert Goodman Rugby 0 Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:11pm
count the goal..... scat03 Basketball 11 Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:22pm
Count the goal? Suppref Basketball 11 Thu Mar 15, 2001 11:43am
does this goal count? beSmith Basketball 3 Mon Apr 17, 2000 04:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1