![]() |
|
|
|||
Disposal ...
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
Was the count started? That's the key. Of course, this brings us back to the circular argument. When is the ball at the disposal of the player? When the official starts his count. When does the official start his count? When the ball is at the disposal of the player. Go figure.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 31, 2017 at 12:27pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The count is the visual indicator of the official's judgement. Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 01, 2018 at 01:56pm. |
|
|||
Practical Advice ...
Quote:
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. Without a count, there is no disposal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Definitions ...
Show me a NFHS definition of ball at disposal (after a goal) that does not include the word count. I'm sure that judgment is utilized, but the rulebook doesn't include that aspect for definition purposes.
Rule 4 is all about definitions: 4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. A more practical definition my include proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the actual definition doesn't include these practical aspects of disposal. By NFHS definition, how does an official deem, or judge, (other than common, practical sense) that the ball is at the disposal? Citation please. 4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower. b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her. c. Placed on the floor at the spot. d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count. Note the word "and". You can't have disposal without counting. And you don't start a count until you deem disposal (by beginning the throwin count). 4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 01, 2018 at 02:42pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Garbage Disposal ...
Agree. A judgment that should be based on a definition of disposal (after a goal) involving proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the NFHS does not provide us with any such parameters. The NFHS leaves us with no definition of disposal (after a goal) that doesn't involve counting.
We don't just judge that goaltending occurs, we have a detailed six part definition of goaltending. We have no such detailed definition of disposal (after a goal). Rookie Official: "Hey BillyMac. I'm studying for my annual, written, refresher exam. When do I start my five second count after a goal?" BillyMac: "When the ball is a the inbounder's disposal." Rookie Official: "How do I know when the ball is at the inbounder's disposal?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." Rookie Official: "Hey BillyMac. I'm having trouble figuring out when to allow a team that scored to request and be granted a timeout after they score a goal. When is it too late to allow such a timeout to be granted?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." Rookie Official: "How do I know when to start my five second count?" BillyMac: "When the ball is a the inbounder's disposal." Rookie Official: "How do I know when the ball is at the inbounder's disposal?" BillyMac: "When you start your five second count." And ... scene.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw In after Made Basket | actuary77 | Basketball | 15 | Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm |
Throw in after made basket | CoachP | Basketball | 15 | Thu Aug 02, 2007 05:00pm |
Throw-in after made basket | FrankHtown | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm |
Throw in after made basket | Rodego | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm |
Throw-In after made basket | kschau | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am |