The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 27
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
I would've let B2 go back out of bounds to complete the throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
I would've let B2 go back out of bounds to complete the throw in.
me2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
me3 (spirit and intent of the rule)

Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
Uhhmmm...disposal or not, what's the violation here?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
Uhhmmm...disposal or not, what's the violation here?
Welllll....the violation would be that the player is out of bounds since they left the floor from out of bounds and by the 'you are where you was' principle they are out of bounds. Not sure I would have called it, I would have to see it.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
Uhhmmm...disposal or not, what's the violation here?
Welllll....the violation would be that the player is out of bounds since they left the floor from out of bounds and by the 'you are where you was' principle they are out of bounds. Not sure I would have called it, I would have to see it.
That's not how I read it.
After a basket, the ball goes to B1 who is standing in bounds. B still needs to do the throwin. B1 throws to B2, who jumps in the middle of the throw to the inbounds side of the court, lands, and then catches the ball.
I'd probably start my count at this point, but I don't see a violation yet.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Rodego
Play: Team A scores a basket and ball rolls onto the court. Player B1 gets ball and passes to B2 who is out of bounds. As B1 releases ball, B2 jumps onto court & catches ball.

Partner calls violation and gives ball back to Team A. I thought it looked funny but didn't think the ball was at the disposal of Team B yet. What's your thoughts?
Uhhmmm...disposal or not, what's the violation here?
Welllll....the violation would be that the player is out of bounds since they left the floor from out of bounds and by the 'you are where you was' principle they are out of bounds. Not sure I would have called it, I would have to see it.
That's not how I read it.
After a basket, the ball goes to B1 who is standing in bounds. B still needs to do the throwin. B1 throws to B2, who jumps in the middle of the throw to the inbounds side of the court, lands, and then catches the ball.
I'd probably start my count at this point, but I don't see a violation yet.
My take too.

Maybe we're just being too pedantic?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
I have a whistle.

Delay of game warning on A. Am I the only one that read, "A1 makes the basket then rolls the ball on the floor?"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
I have a whistle.

Delay of game warning on A. Am I the only one that read, "A1 makes the basket then rolls the ball on the floor?"
Apparently.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
I have a whistle.

Delay of game warning on A. Am I the only one that read, "A1 makes the basket then rolls the ball on the floor?"
The way I read it, the ball rolls on its own after going through the hoop. There is no mention of any A player rolling the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
I have a whistle.

Delay of game warning on A. Am I the only one that read, "A1 makes the basket then rolls the ball on the floor?"
The way I read it, the ball rolls on its own after going through the hoop. There is no mention of any A player rolling the ball.
Oops!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1