The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 31, 2017, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
I would probably blow it dead and reset, kind of like you would if you made a crappy bounce to a thrower who then muffed it. Innocent mishap.

The would-be thrower never truly had disposal. I’d be good with a reset here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 31, 2017, 12:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Disposal ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
The would-be thrower never truly had disposal.
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Was the count started? That's the key.

Of course, this brings us back to the circular argument.

When is the ball at the disposal of the player? When the official starts his count.

When does the official start his count? When the ball is at the disposal of the player.

Go figure.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 31, 2017 at 12:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 01:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Was the count started? That's the key.

Of course, this brings us back to the circular argument.

When is the ball at the disposal of the player? When the official starts his count.

When does the official start his count? When the ball is at the disposal of the player.

Go figure.
The ball is that disposal of the thrower-in when the official judges it to be so. And when he so judges, then he begins his count. There is no circular reasoning to this.

The count is the visual indicator of the official's judgement.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 01, 2018 at 01:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 02:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Practical Advice ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The ball is that disposal of the thrower-in when the official judges it to be so.
Agree in practice, but that's not what the written rule states.

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Without a count, there is no disposal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 02:11pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree in practice, but that's not what the written rule states.

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Without a count, there is no disposal.
Again, the count is the visual indicator that the official has deemed the ball to be at the disposal of the thrower in. An official starts his count when in his judgement the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in. I don't see what's so hard to understand about that.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 02:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Definitions ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I don't see what's so hard to understand about that.
Show me a NFHS definition of ball at disposal (after a goal) that does not include the word count. I'm sure that judgment is utilized, but the rulebook doesn't include that aspect for definition purposes.

Rule 4 is all about definitions:

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

A more practical definition my include proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the actual definition doesn't include these practical aspects of disposal.

By NFHS definition, how does an official deem, or judge, (other than common, practical sense) that the ball is at the disposal? Citation please.

4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.


Note the word "and". You can't have disposal without counting.

And you don't start a count until you deem disposal (by beginning the throwin count).

4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the
disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 01, 2018 at 02:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2018, 02:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Show me a NFHS definition of ball at disposal that does not include the word count. I'm sure that judgment is utilized, but the rulebook doesn't include that aspect for definition purposes.

Rule 4 is all about definitions:

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

A more practical definition my include proximity to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the actual definition doesn't include these practical aspects of disposal.
Are you missing a part where I said when the official counts that means he judges the ball is at the disposal of the team? Disposal is a judgement. Officials are the ones who make the judgement. Not everything is a scientific equation.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In after Made Basket actuary77 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm
Throw in after made basket CoachP Basketball 15 Thu Aug 02, 2007 05:00pm
Throw-in after made basket FrankHtown Basketball 8 Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm
Throw in after made basket Rodego Basketball 11 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm
Throw-In after made basket kschau Basketball 1 Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1