The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 02:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Inbounds pass muffed into backcourt

I thought I recalled seeing this discussed here previously, but I've searched and can't find it.


NFHS Rules

A1 is inbounding from the endline in his frontcourt. A2 is standing in the frontcourt near the division line. A2 jumps to catch the pass, and the ball goes off his fingertips and into the backcourt where A2 goes and retrieves it.

Is this a violation?? Please cite rules or casebook plays. I know the reason for the correct ruling should center around control.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
No violation. The infamous rule 9 section 9 Backcourt article 3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
In order to have a backcourt violation, there have been player control inbounds. Until there is such, there is no team control (true team control). Without team control, there can be no backcourt violation.

See rule 4 and rule 9.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 07:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,333
Four Elements ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In order to have a backcourt violation ...
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Yes, Yes and Yes.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
Yes, Yes and Yes.
On 1 and 2 I would have thought so but this question has me thinking. I think we've always called them that way but I'm not so sure that the rules actually support that. Hmmm.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 04:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
In the air, but doesn't touch the back court? Like player jumps from front court and while in air "saves" it, passing it to a teammate to the front court?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,333
Not Yet ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?
Not a violation until the dribbler touches the ball after it bounces.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
1. If team A had the ball in the FC, say on the wing, and then passed it to A1, he dribbles ball and steps on line. Violation. When he steps on division line, he has BC status. If ball wasnt in FC to start but A1, while dribbling, never got both feet and the ball to touch in the FC then stepping on the line is not a violation. He did not get all 3 parts over and then step on line. He is still in the BC by rule.

2. Same answer.

3. Same answer.

A player dribbling the ball is deemed in control of it. He can call a TO while dribbling. The fact that the player isnt touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesnt matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 05:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,333
Boundary ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The fact that the player isn't touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesn't matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.
Are you confusing this (above) with the play where a dribbler who steps on a boundary is considered to be on that boundary even if the ball isn't in the player's hand? This situation is the opposite: The ball hits the boundary, while the player isn't touching the boundary.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 06:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
I thought I recalled seeing this discussed here previously, but I've searched and can't find it.
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Had this play last night:
Team A is in their front court and has a pass deflected by team B. The tipped pass is headed toward team A back court.
A2 jumps from front court and gains possession of the ball (in the air) and lands in teams A back court.
Trail calls over and back and team A's coach (who has been excellent) wants an explanation.
Partner explains; she left the air while still in her front court therefore she and the ball still had front court status.
I initially thought - he's right, but now I think WE got it wrong.
I'm thinking the tipped pass changes team control - therefore making A2 a defender - NFHS 9.9.3.
Am I thinking correctly here?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
Had this play last night:
Team A is in their front court and has a pass deflected by team B. The tipped pass is headed toward team A back court.
A2 jumps from front court and gains possession of the ball (in the air) and lands in teams A back court.
Trail calls over and back and team A's coach (who has been excellent) wants an explanation.
Partner explains; she left the air while still in her front court therefore she and the ball still had front court status.
I initially thought - he's right, but now I think WE got it wrong.
I'm thinking the tipped pass changes team control - therefore making A2 a defender - NFHS 9.9.3.
Am I thinking correctly here?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Am I wrong in thinking in order to have TC, you must obtain possession?

Also, are you in the great (icy) state of Iowa as well?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Thanks for all the responses. Let me see if I understand this, after reading your responses as well as some additional rulebook and casebook reading.

In order for there to be a BC violation, there must first be PLAYER and TEAM Control established IN THE FRONTCOURT. Then, while TC exists in the FC, the offense must be last to touch in the FC and first to touch in the BC.

While there is TEAM CONTROL during a throw-in, and the throw-in occurs on the endline of Team A's frontcourt, this does not establish Frontcourt team control, as the area outside the boundary line is not considered part of the FC. The ball being tipped off the A2's hand as he jumped from the FC to catch the inbounds does not establish FC Team Control. Therefore, A2 can go retrieve the ball in the backcourt and there is no BC Violation.

Do I have this correct?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? breynolds Football 9 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm
muffed backwards pass into the end zone kentref Football 10 Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm
Inbounds pass Cyber-Ref Basketball 8 Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm
muffed pass, then dribble devdog69 Basketball 22 Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1