The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 07:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Four Elements ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In order to have a backcourt violation ...
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Yes, Yes and Yes.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
Yes, Yes and Yes.
On 1 and 2 I would have thought so but this question has me thinking. I think we've always called them that way but I'm not so sure that the rules actually support that. Hmmm.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 04:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
On 1 and 2 I would have thought so but this question has me thinking. I think we've always called them that way but I'm not so sure that the rules actually support that. Hmmm.
My thoughts....

Quote:
Rule 9, SECTION 9, BACKCOURT ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
According to rule 9, to have a backcourt violation, the ball must return to the backcourt. The other articles in this section talk about throwin or transitioning to the frontcourt, so they're not relevant. So, did the ball return to the backcourt?

Quote:
Rule 4, SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL
ART. 1 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.
ART. 2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

The definition of ball location says the ball is in the backcourt only when it touches the backcourt or a player who is touching the backcourt. If the dribbler doesn't touch the ball while on the line, does the ball ever return to the backcourt? By the above rule, it doesn't seem so.

You might be tempted to say yes based on the OOB rule...
Quote:
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
But, I don't know of any rule that says this restriction on a dribbler and a boundary line extends to the division line.

I know I've always called this a violation, but it seems the rules do not consider the ball to have returned to the backcourt just because the dribbler steps on the line unless the dribbler is touching the ball while doing so.

Similarly, for a dribble that touches the line, it seems, unless I'm missing something, that touching the line is nothing. It would be come a backcourt violation as soon as the dribbler touches it again, however.

What am I missing?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 05:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
In the air, but doesn't touch the back court? Like player jumps from front court and while in air "saves" it, passing it to a teammate to the front court?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Not Yet ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?
Not a violation until the dribbler touches the ball after it bounces.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
1. If team A had the ball in the FC, say on the wing, and then passed it to A1, he dribbles ball and steps on line. Violation. When he steps on division line, he has BC status. If ball wasnt in FC to start but A1, while dribbling, never got both feet and the ball to touch in the FC then stepping on the line is not a violation. He did not get all 3 parts over and then step on line. He is still in the BC by rule.

2. Same answer.

3. Same answer.

A player dribbling the ball is deemed in control of it. He can call a TO while dribbling. The fact that the player isnt touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesnt matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 05:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Boundary ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The fact that the player isn't touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesn't matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.
Are you confusing this (above) with the play where a dribbler who steps on a boundary is considered to be on that boundary even if the ball isn't in the player's hand? This situation is the opposite: The ball hits the boundary, while the player isn't touching the boundary.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 06:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are you confusing this (above) with the play where a dribbler who steps on a boundary is considered to be on that boundary even if the ball isn't in the player's hand? This situation is the opposite: The ball hits the boundary, while the player isn't touching the boundary.
If a player is dribbling the ball and dribbles it on a side line or end line. He's caused it go out. Here, the division line is same as a boundary. Rule says while dribbling all three must be in FC for player be in control in FC. Once he is in FC, if he is dribbling, he has control. If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.


Short answer.. No. Don't think I'm confusing this. Of course, if I'm confused..I might not realize I'm confused...that's a different story.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 06:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
You Don't Know What You Don't Know ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.
Even a really bad bounce pass?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If a player is dribbling the ball and dribbles it on a side line or end line. He's caused it go out. Here, the division line is same as a boundary. Rule says while dribbling all three must be in FC for player be in control in FC. Once he is in FC, if he is dribbling, he has control. If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.


Short answer.. No. Don't think I'm confusing this. Of course, if I'm confused..I might not realize I'm confused...that's a different story.
I'm not so sure this is true. It may be that it should be true, but I am not seeing it in the rules. See my post above.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'm not so sure this is true. It may be that it should be true, but I am not seeing it in the rules. See my post above.
I saw it. A player dribbling is in control of ball. Takes 3 parts to be in FC. Once in FC, if one of 3 in BC while dribbling, player in BC. Step on line, dribble on line or in BC he cause it go in BC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? breynolds Football 9 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm
muffed backwards pass into the end zone kentref Football 10 Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm
Inbounds pass Cyber-Ref Basketball 8 Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm
muffed pass, then dribble devdog69 Basketball 22 Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1