The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Had this play last night:
Team A is in their front court and has a pass deflected by team B. The tipped pass is headed toward team A back court.
A2 jumps from front court and gains possession of the ball (in the air) and lands in teams A back court.
Trail calls over and back and team A's coach (who has been excellent) wants an explanation.
Partner explains; she left the air while still in her front court therefore she and the ball still had front court status.
I initially thought - he's right, but now I think WE got it wrong.
I'm thinking the tipped pass changes team control - therefore making A2 a defender - NFHS 9.9.3.
Am I thinking correctly here?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
Had this play last night:
Team A is in their front court and has a pass deflected by team B. The tipped pass is headed toward team A back court.
A2 jumps from front court and gains possession of the ball (in the air) and lands in teams A back court.
Trail calls over and back and team A's coach (who has been excellent) wants an explanation.
Partner explains; she left the air while still in her front court therefore she and the ball still had front court status.
I initially thought - he's right, but now I think WE got it wrong.
I'm thinking the tipped pass changes team control - therefore making A2 a defender - NFHS 9.9.3.
Am I thinking correctly here?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Am I wrong in thinking in order to have TC, you must obtain possession?

Also, are you in the great (icy) state of Iowa as well?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Thanks for all the responses. Let me see if I understand this, after reading your responses as well as some additional rulebook and casebook reading.

In order for there to be a BC violation, there must first be PLAYER and TEAM Control established IN THE FRONTCOURT. Then, while TC exists in the FC, the offense must be last to touch in the FC and first to touch in the BC.

While there is TEAM CONTROL during a throw-in, and the throw-in occurs on the endline of Team A's frontcourt, this does not establish Frontcourt team control, as the area outside the boundary line is not considered part of the FC. The ball being tipped off the A2's hand as he jumped from the FC to catch the inbounds does not establish FC Team Control. Therefore, A2 can go retrieve the ball in the backcourt and there is no BC Violation.

Do I have this correct?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 11:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
No, there need not be player control in the front court.

The best way to look at this is to consider the BC play as if there was no team control during a throw-in. In that case, someone in bounds must possess the ball in order to establish team control. From that point on, BC rules apply.

So, your play is not a violation because A2 did not catch the ball to establish TC in bounds.

One more correction on the first to touch portion: it's not first to touch in the BC, it's first to touch after the ball goes into the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
*This email I recv'd from the State may clarify:

"The National Federation Office asked that we forward this message.

Much discussion is taking place in the various social media and other places about the follow situation.

Here is the play:

- Team A has Team Control in their frontcourt.

- Team B deflects a pass into the air and over the backcourt.

- A3 catches the ball in his/her backcourt, before the ball make contact with the floor in the backcourt.

RULING:

This is a backcourt violation, since Team A had Team Control in their frontcourt and A3 was the first to touch a ball that still had frontcourt status while A3 was in the backcourt. The deflection of the ball by B does not change the status of the ball. This causes A to be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch in the backcourt. The ball continued to have backcourt status. Similar to A3 catching the ball while standing out-of-bounds."



"Allow me to remind you of a few things:

- We should all remain consistent in the mechanics of reporting fouls:

o Make your way to the reporting area in front of the scorer’s table. Don’t get in the habit of shouting from across the court or from a long distance."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 01:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
*This email I recv'd from the State may clarify:

"The National Federation Office asked that we forward this message.

Much discussion is taking place in the various social media and other places about the follow situation.

Here is the play:

- Team A has Team Control in their frontcourt.

- Team B deflects a pass into the air and over the backcourt.

- A3 catches the ball in his/her backcourt, before the ball make contact with the floor in the backcourt.

RULING:

This is a backcourt violation, since Team A had Team Control in their frontcourt and A3 was the first to touch a ball that still had frontcourt status while A3 was in the backcourt. The deflection of the ball by B does not change the status of the ball. This causes A to be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch in the backcourt. The ball continued to have backcourt status. Similar to A3 catching the ball while standing out-of-bounds."



"Allow me to remind you of a few things:

- We should all remain consistent in the mechanics of reporting fouls:

o Make your way to the reporting area in front of the scorer’s table. Don’t get in the habit of shouting from across the court or from a long distance."
1. This play isn't relevant to this discussion because the OP involves a throw in.

2. Even on the court, until they actually change the rule to match this distorted interpretation, I'm not going to see that play that well.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
[

Last edited by Kansas Ref; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 03:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
1. This play isn't relevant to this discussion because the OP involves a throw in.

2. Even on the court, until they actually change the rule to match this distorted interpretation, I'm not going to see that play that well.
* 1. The guidance from Kansas management that I posted is entirely relevant to permalink post # 6 made by Hawkeye.

*2. If you are the ref in the proximity of such an event/incident as the one we are discussing, then you may have to work to get a better look at the action.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
Had this play last night:
Team A is in their front court and has a pass deflected by team B. The tipped pass is headed toward team A back court.
A2 jumps from front court and gains possession of the ball (in the air) and lands in teams A back court.
Trail calls over and back and team A's coach (who has been excellent) wants an explanation.
Partner explains; she left the air while still in her front court therefore she and the ball still had front court status.
I initially thought - he's right, but now I think WE got it wrong.
I'm thinking the tipped pass changes team control - therefore making A2 a defender - NFHS 9.9.3.
Am I thinking correctly here?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
B never held or dribbled the ball, so B never had TC. That means A never lost TC.

BC violation.

(and, this play should have gone to a different thread, imo -- it's just going to muddy the waters here as responses come in to the different plays)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? breynolds Football 9 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm
muffed backwards pass into the end zone kentref Football 10 Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm
Inbounds pass Cyber-Ref Basketball 8 Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm
muffed pass, then dribble devdog69 Basketball 22 Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1