The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Not an official here, but have a couple questions.

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but his foot steps on the division line, is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court, but the ball touches the division line (half over), is that a violation?

If A1 is dribbling in the front court and the ball goes completely over the division line, but the player stays in the front court, is it a violation?
1. If team A had the ball in the FC, say on the wing, and then passed it to A1, he dribbles ball and steps on line. Violation. When he steps on division line, he has BC status. If ball wasnt in FC to start but A1, while dribbling, never got both feet and the ball to touch in the FC then stepping on the line is not a violation. He did not get all 3 parts over and then step on line. He is still in the BC by rule.

2. Same answer.

3. Same answer.

A player dribbling the ball is deemed in control of it. He can call a TO while dribbling. The fact that the player isnt touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesnt matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 05:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 05:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,558
Boundary ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The fact that the player isn't touching or holding the ball at time it hits division line or BC doesn't matter. If its a dribble, its a dribble and he has control. Ball had TC in FC and he in control has it in BC. No other player touch it. Violation.
Are you confusing this (above) with the play where a dribbler who steps on a boundary is considered to be on that boundary even if the ball isn't in the player's hand? This situation is the opposite: The ball hits the boundary, while the player isn't touching the boundary.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 06:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are you confusing this (above) with the play where a dribbler who steps on a boundary is considered to be on that boundary even if the ball isn't in the player's hand? This situation is the opposite: The ball hits the boundary, while the player isn't touching the boundary.
If a player is dribbling the ball and dribbles it on a side line or end line. He's caused it go out. Here, the division line is same as a boundary. Rule says while dribbling all three must be in FC for player be in control in FC. Once he is in FC, if he is dribbling, he has control. If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.


Short answer.. No. Don't think I'm confusing this. Of course, if I'm confused..I might not realize I'm confused...that's a different story.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 17, 2017 at 06:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,558
You Don't Know What You Don't Know ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.
Even a really bad bounce pass?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If a player is dribbling the ball and dribbles it on a side line or end line. He's caused it go out. Here, the division line is same as a boundary. Rule says while dribbling all three must be in FC for player be in control in FC. Once he is in FC, if he is dribbling, he has control. If anything touches BC, while he is dribbling...Violation.


Short answer.. No. Don't think I'm confusing this. Of course, if I'm confused..I might not realize I'm confused...that's a different story.
I'm not so sure this is true. It may be that it should be true, but I am not seeing it in the rules. See my post above.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'm not so sure this is true. It may be that it should be true, but I am not seeing it in the rules. See my post above.
I saw it. A player dribbling is in control of ball. Takes 3 parts to be in FC. Once in FC, if one of 3 in BC while dribbling, player in BC. Step on line, dribble on line or in BC he cause it go in BC
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I saw it. A player dribbling is in control of ball. Takes 3 parts to be in FC. Once in FC, if one of 3 in BC while dribbling, player in BC. Step on line, dribble on line or in BC he cause it go in BC
3 points is not a general concept. It is a specific application that ceases to be applicable once a player has gained FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
3 points is not a general concept. It is a specific application that ceases to be applicable once a player has gained FC status.
That is the point. A player dribbling in FC is in control. If he bounced ball on division line he's caused it to be in BC. Steps on line.same. It takes 3 to get u to FC but once you there it only takes one to put you in BC. As far as player holding or dribbling ball, the division line is like a boundary.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incomplete pass following muffed punt? breynolds Football 9 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:00pm
muffed backwards pass into the end zone kentref Football 10 Wed Oct 26, 2005 03:29pm
Inbounds pass Cyber-Ref Basketball 8 Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:57pm
muffed pass, then dribble devdog69 Basketball 22 Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:30pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1