![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
We don't know that without hearing from the other official....we only have one side of the story.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I agree with going with the incorrect blocking call. Sometimes our partner(s) make bad calls, but we can't overrule them (well... for the most part). The conversation should have gone like this...
Partner: I have a blocking foul. You: Before my travel? Partner: Yep. You: Okay. Then, when you get a chance, you can let your partner know why it was a bad call and why. |
|
|||
|
I didn't read the OP well enough and went by later comments before posting. I see now that no block call was whistled. In that case, the travel was the only actual call, so that's what I'd go with.
|
|
|||
|
Why isn't it a PC foul? The defender had LGP and the offensive player ran into her. It's not the defenders fault she didn't go down. The defender took the contact.
__________________
Knowing the rules is half of what it takes to be a good official. Being in position to make the call is the other half. |
|
|||
|
That isn't how I read the OP. I read it to be that the other official came in with a block just after the whistle for the travel. Unfortunately "she had LGP" isn't a call to be overruled.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If your partner makes that call, you have to go with it as you have to go with it and assume that he saw something you didn't. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No jokes about me making a bad call... I know. ![]() Anyway, the dribbler drove from my PCA as the center, and into the lane to attempt a shot in front of the lead. I saw the defender swipe at the ball, and I called a foul. Bad call, as I didn't actually see the contact due to being straightlined. I reacted too quickly and made an assumption. As soon as I made the call I looked at my partner after realizing I shouldn't have made the call, and he had a look on his face that told me the defender never made contact with the dribbler/shooter. Now... the play happened in his PCA, and he knew that I had made a bad call. So, going by what you just said, should he have overruled my call? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A disagreement with my partner last night | REFANDUMP | Volleyball | 4 | Sat Sep 15, 2012 01:43pm |
| Disagreement with partner last night on rule | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Fri Jan 21, 2011 09:55am |
| Disagreement | Dukat | Softball | 2 | Sat Feb 07, 2004 01:39am |
| Disagreement with Ref | Schultj | Football | 10 | Mon Sep 08, 2003 07:15pm |
| Disagreement with partner! | Dennis Nicely | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 10, 1999 03:39pm |