![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Depends on whether you are using FED/NCAA rules or FIBA rules. Under Adam's question, it's the basket into which you (usually) attempt to throw the ball. |
|
|||
I got "own" and "opponent's" backboard backwards (at least in NFHS rules). Casebook play 4.15.4 C clears it up:
4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an *official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an *official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, my answer to the above question is "yes." |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
An errant pass.
|
|
|||
Okay, I should expand...
Throwing the ball off your own backboard and having a violation. Like if a player lobs the ball off their backboard, gets the rebound in the air and slams it (like we've seen in NBA slam dunk contests). Would you call that a violation? |
|
|||
Quote:
The throwing of the ball off the backboard is clearly not an attempt to score, but it is legal because of Case play 9.5 |
|
|||
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; and catches the ball. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.
The caseplay states that, after ending a dribble, it's legal to throw the ball against one's own backboard, and it's also legal to catch it. It doesn't say that it's legal to start a new dribble (unless the official deems the throw to be a try). Why is equipment in quotes? Could the player use his leg sleeve to do the same thing? Leg sleeves are equipment.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 30, 2016 at 07:18am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Reference help: Ball location | Bad Zebra | Basketball | 10 | Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:43pm |
Throwing the ball off of a player - T? | cshs81 | Basketball | 20 | Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm |
Throwing the ball off the backboard | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 17 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:12pm |
throwing bat at ball | malasto | Baseball | 13 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm |
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching | Rich | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm |