The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
I got "own" and "opponent's" backboard backwards (at least in NFHS rules). Casebook play 4.15.4 C clears it up:


4.15.4 SITUATION C:

After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an *official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again.

RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an *official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reference help: Ball location Bad Zebra Basketball 10 Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:43pm
Throwing the ball off of a player - T? cshs81 Basketball 20 Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm
Throwing the ball off the backboard Back In The Saddle Basketball 17 Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:12pm
throwing bat at ball malasto Baseball 13 Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching Rich Basketball 3 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1