The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Reference for Throwing Ball off Own Backboard

Can anyone reference a case play or interpretation or other ruling, directly from the NFHS, that spells out the legality of a player throwing the ball off his own backboard?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Can anyone reference a case play or interpretation or other ruling, directly from the NFHS, that spells out the legality of a player throwing the ball off his own backboard?
Current NFHS Case Book 9.5 Situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Can anyone reference a case play or interpretation or other ruling, directly from the NFHS, that spells out the legality of a player throwing the ball off his own backboard?
9.5. Backboard is players "own equipment."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:57am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Thanks, guys.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 07:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
Equipment ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Backboard is players "own equipment."
Just like throwing it off one's own headband?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 129
The term "own backboard" refers to the backboard and basket that you are defending, correct???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 10:21am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
The term "own backboard" refers to the backboard and basket that you are defending, correct???
NFHS 4-5-1: "A team's own basket is the one into which its players try to throw or tap the ball." Accordingly, the team's "own backboard" would be that to which said basket is attached.
This is a valid question, because, as it has been noted here before, I think FIBA's terminology is reversed from this. Anybody who speaks FIBA available to verify that?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com

Last edited by Freddy; Thu Dec 29, 2016 at 10:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
The term "own backboard" refers to the backboard and basket that you are defending, correct???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Depends on whether you are using FED/NCAA rules or FIBA rules.

Under Adam's question, it's the basket into which you (usually) attempt to throw the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 129
I got "own" and "opponent's" backboard backwards (at least in NFHS rules). Casebook play 4.15.4 C clears it up:


4.15.4 SITUATION C:

After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an *official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again.

RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an *official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:03pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
4.15.4 SITUATION C:
After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball:. . . (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again.
RULING: . . . In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
Is (c) legal because this is a try or because the player throws the ball against his own backboard?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Is (c) legal because this is a try or because the player throws the ball against his own backboard?
How did Billy get Freddy's password?

Anyway, my answer to the above question is "yes."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 12:57pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
Can somebody give a situation where throwing the ball off your own backboard (per NFHS rules) is not a try for goal?

I'm actually asking... not trying to quiz anybody.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Can somebody give a situation where throwing the ball off your own backboard (per NFHS rules) is not a try for goal?

I'm actually asking... not trying to quiz anybody.
Throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 01:11pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Throw-in.
damn
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2016, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Can somebody give a situation where throwing the ball off your own backboard (per NFHS rules) is not a try for goal?

I'm actually asking... not trying to quiz anybody.
An errant pass.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reference help: Ball location Bad Zebra Basketball 10 Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:43pm
Throwing the ball off of a player - T? cshs81 Basketball 20 Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm
Throwing the ball off the backboard Back In The Saddle Basketball 17 Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:12pm
throwing bat at ball malasto Baseball 13 Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching Rich Basketball 3 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1