The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 02:02pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,372
Reference help: Ball location

Can anyone provide a rule, case or manual reference for throw-in location following an off-ball common foul during a throw-in? Fed rules.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 02:10pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Can anyone provide a rule, case or manual reference for throw-in location following an off-ball common foul during a throw-in? Fed rules.
The throw-in had not been completed according to your post. So, it would appear that you shoot FTs or it is another throw-in at the spot for either team. That was the position of the ball when the foul occurred. Did someone insist on another location last night?
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 02:18pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,372
Yes. Partner thought throw in should move from original spot to new foul location. In the end we got it right but I couldn't think of exactly where to find a reference to confirm our action. Good game by the way. 4A boys...4 point game. Hoping to get a call Sunday for a regional game next week.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999

Last edited by Bad Zebra; Sat Feb 11, 2012 at 02:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Can anyone provide a rule, case or manual reference for throw-in location following an off-ball common foul during a throw-in? Fed rules.
A throw-in always occurs at the designated OOB spot nearest the spot of the foul, except when POI is used.

7-5-4
Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest the foul:
a. After a player-control foul, as in 4-19-6; a team-control foul, as in 4-19-7; or after a common foul prior to the bonus rule being in effect, as in 4-19-2, any player of the offended team shall make the throw-in.


Only when using POI is the location of the ball a factor.

4-36-2
Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Yes. Partner thought throw in should move from original spot to new foul location.


Quesition is can is can you provide a rule that says he's wrong?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Feb 11, 2012 at 02:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 02:44pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post



Quesition is can is can you provide a rule that says he's wrong?
Interesting question...not exactly sure how to answer...maybe that's why this bugged me so much last night.

Thanks for the reference BTW.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 03:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Unless it was a double foul, your partner was right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Yes. Partner thought throw in should move from original spot to new foul location.
Your partner was right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
In the end we got it right but I couldn't think of exactly where to find a reference to confirm our action.
Not if you put it in play at the original spot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Good game by the way. 4A boys...4 point game. Hoping to get a call Sunday for a regional game next week.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 03:31pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Your partner was right.
OK. Reference? 7-5-4 exclusively? I'm thinking because POI really didn't apply to the play.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999

Last edited by Bad Zebra; Sat Feb 11, 2012 at 03:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 03:38pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
OK. Reference? 7-5-4 exclusively? I'm thinking because POI really didn't apply to the play.
Yes, 7-5-4, because POI is not involved. (This feels circular.)
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 04:17pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,372
The bad news: In the end, we kicked it...
The good news: The difference in ball position was only about 5 feet, so the affect of our error was negligible...and my instincts told me something was off about it. File this one away for future use.

Thanks all.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 04:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The better news; you own this one now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP reference GBref Basketball 4 Sun Feb 28, 2010 09:06am
Reference Anyone. Chess Ref Basketball 7 Wed Nov 14, 2007 06:26pm
Ball has frontcourt location, and then... GregAlan Basketball 6 Tue Mar 11, 2003 06:49pm
Free kick-Can kicker change location of ball? Mike Simonds Football 6 Tue Aug 27, 2002 06:53am
Ball location taking signs Prince Baseball 3 Sat Apr 27, 2002 05:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1