The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 59
OOB on Jump Ball

Curious about your thoughts on this Jump Ball situation. When the player in White grabs the ball his left foot was on the line. Obviously its Green ball, but who gets possession arrow?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 01:24am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Green gets the ball and white gets the arrow. If he had gained control then stepped out of bounds, green would get both the ball and the arrow.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 02:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
Since the change in the definitions of player and team control about five years ago, the ruling on this play could be different.
The NFHS removed the word "inbounds" from the definition of player control. Therefore, if, as in this play, a player standing on a boundary line catches the ball that would fit the definition of player control.
Understanding the play that way yields Green being awarded the ball and the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,693
Why does the U keep signaling stop clock after the ball is touched by a jumper?

Rhetorical question...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 10:43am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Why does the U keep signaling stop clock after the ball is touched by a jumper?

Rhetorical question...
Because he does not know the rule on starting the clock.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Since the change in the definitions of player and team control about five years ago, the ruling on this play could be different.
The NFHS removed the word "inbounds" from the definition of player control. Therefore, if, as in this play, a player standing on a boundary line catches the ball that would fit the definition of player control.
Understanding the play that way yields Green being awarded the ball and the arrow.
Disagree. The player had to touch it a fraction of a second before he gained control.

Give the ball to green and the arrow to white.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 12:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Why does the U keep signaling stop clock after the ball is touched by a jumper?

Rhetorical question...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This is a bad habit of mine that I'm still trying to break. It's a mental disconnect for some reason. I know the rule, and when I can focus on it I do it right. For some reason, my natural inclination is wait until a non-jumper touches it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Disagree. The player had to touch it a fraction of a second before he gained control.

Give the ball to green and the arrow to white.
I think on this play you are correct because ball was on edge of hand and then grabbed...but if he would have caught it with a foot on the line I think, under the rules, that counts as possession. Green gets ball and arrow. There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different. I'm not a fan of it but I think it's the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different.
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
A jumper possessing the ball before the jump ends is the violation. The actual possession of the ball is a violation. On the other play the possession is not the violation. It is that he is standing out of bounds. The possession isn't nullified. I'm not a fan of it and I'm not as confident about it as I am most other things. I just think that possession counts.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I think on this play you are correct because ball was on edge of hand and then grabbed...but if he would have caught it with a foot on the line I think, under the rules, that counts as possession. Green gets ball and arrow. There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different. I'm not a fan of it but I think it's the rule.
There is never any player or team control.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
There is never any player or team control.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
On this play I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
Player control does require holding or dribbling a "live" ball. If his foot is out of bounds when he catches it ball is dead immediately so maybe it doesn't count. It certainly makes more sense to give arrow to white. Something makes me think there's a quirk with this. I don't know. I'm tired....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball held ball plus injury. Sharpshooternes Basketball 16 Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:25pm
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) JRutledge Basketball 21 Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm
Jump Ball And-1 Basketball 4 Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:28pm
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1