The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 02:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Since the change in the definitions of player and team control about five years ago, the ruling on this play could be different.
The NFHS removed the word "inbounds" from the definition of player control. Therefore, if, as in this play, a player standing on a boundary line catches the ball that would fit the definition of player control.
Understanding the play that way yields Green being awarded the ball and the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Since the change in the definitions of player and team control about five years ago, the ruling on this play could be different.
The NFHS removed the word "inbounds" from the definition of player control. Therefore, if, as in this play, a player standing on a boundary line catches the ball that would fit the definition of player control.
Understanding the play that way yields Green being awarded the ball and the arrow.
Disagree. The player had to touch it a fraction of a second before he gained control.

Give the ball to green and the arrow to white.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Disagree. The player had to touch it a fraction of a second before he gained control.

Give the ball to green and the arrow to white.
I think on this play you are correct because ball was on edge of hand and then grabbed...but if he would have caught it with a foot on the line I think, under the rules, that counts as possession. Green gets ball and arrow. There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different. I'm not a fan of it but I think it's the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different.
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
A jumper possessing the ball before the jump ends is the violation. The actual possession of the ball is a violation. On the other play the possession is not the violation. It is that he is standing out of bounds. The possession isn't nullified. I'm not a fan of it and I'm not as confident about it as I am most other things. I just think that possession counts.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Why? They're both violations before team control inbounds is established. I see no difference. The violating team should get the arrow.
Player control does require holding or dribbling a "live" ball. If his foot is out of bounds when he catches it ball is dead immediately so maybe it doesn't count. It certainly makes more sense to give arrow to white. Something makes me think there's a quirk with this. I don't know. I'm tired....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I think on this play you are correct because ball was on edge of hand and then grabbed...but if he would have caught it with a foot on the line I think, under the rules, that counts as possession. Green gets ball and arrow. There's a case play that says when jumper catches ball before jump ends that does not count as possession. This is different. I'm not a fan of it but I think it's the rule.
There is never any player or team control.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2016, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
There is never any player or team control.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
On this play I agree.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball held ball plus injury. Sharpshooternes Basketball 16 Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:25pm
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) JRutledge Basketball 21 Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm
Jump Ball And-1 Basketball 4 Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:28pm
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1