The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 05:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Jump Ball

Hello fellow officials I am new to this forum and have enjoy reading all the threads I have learned a lot. Every now and then I visit this forum to educate myself more about the rules and it has help me be a better official.


Anyway I have a question about a jump ball situation that happen in my game yesterday (2 men crew)


At the start of the game my partner tosses the jump ball for jumper A1 and B2. A great toss by my partner both A1 and B2 jump up for the tap. The ball is tip around about 3 times before the ball even touch the floor or the non jumpers, now jumper A1 gain control of the jump ball. My partner calls a violation on A1 for being the first person to gain possession of the jump ball now I didnít question his call and just went with what he had.
After the jump ball violation my partner awards the throw in to Team B for a spot throw in at the mid court. After Team B inbounds, the possession arrow is now set toward Team ďBĒ basket. I told the table to switch the arrow to Team ďAĒ basket because the possession of A1 during the jump ball did not count since the violation was called on Team A. One minute has gone by and now we have a jump ball and I signal toward Team ďAĒ basket. My partner over ruled the possession arrow and said that its Team B ball because Team A gain possession when A1 grab the ball during the jump ball. He said that once A1 control the jump ball even though itís a violation team control and possession was establish soon as A1 gain control of the ball once again I didnít not question his call.
At halftime I did ask him on both rulings and I told him I think that his ruling for both was wrong. Of course he was the veteran official and I didnít want to make a big deal about it so I left it alone after he said that was the correct call.

Soon as I got home I tried to look for it in the rule and case book and did not find any info about it so can someone please clarify the ruling and where is it in the case or rule book for me.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
You were right in that arrow should have been set to team A. Although A1 did grab the ball, which could be thought of as possession, it was ruled a violation. Team B inbounds after the violation, setting the arrow to team A when the throw-in is completed. Sorry I do not have case book for citation.

A1 can legally be the first to touch the ball after the jump ball has ended when it has touched another player or the floor.

See this older but very similar thread where Nevada sets it straight: Jump Ball

Last edited by shishstripes; Wed Dec 31, 2008 at 07:50am. Reason: additional information
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 07:56am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by And-1 View Post
Hello fellow officials I am new to this forum and have enjoy reading all the threads I have learned a lot. Every now and then I visit this forum to educate myself more about the rules and it has help me be a better official.
Welcome aboard! We hope you stay and post more times!

Quote:
Originally Posted by And-1 View Post
At the start of the game my partner tosses the jump ball for jumper A1 and B2. A great toss by my partner both A1 and B2 jump up for the tap. The ball is tip around about 3 times before the ball even touch the floor or the non jumpers, now jumper A1 gain control of the jump ball. My partner calls a violation on A1 for being the first person to gain possession of the jump ball now I didnít question his call and just went with what he had.

After the jump ball violation my partner awards the throw in to Team B for a spot throw in at the mid court. After Team B inbounds, the possession arrow is now set toward Team ďBĒ basket. I told the table to switch the arrow to Team ďAĒ basket because the possession of A1 during the jump ball did not count since the violation was called on Team A. One minute has gone by and now we have a jump ball and I signal toward Team ďAĒ basket. My partner over ruled the possession arrow and said that its Team B ball because Team A gain possession when A1 grab the ball during the jump ball. He said that once A1 control the jump ball even though itís a violation team control and possession was establish soon as A1 gain control of the ball once again I didnít not question his call.
At halftime I did ask him on both rulings and I told him I think that his ruling for both was wrong. Of course he was the veteran official and I didnít want to make a big deal about it so I left it alone after he said that was the correct call.

Soon as I got home I tried to look for it in the rule and case book and did not find any info about it so can someone please clarify the ruling and where is it in the case or rule book for me.

Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by shishstripes View Post
You were right in that arrow should have been set to team A. Although A1 did grab the ball, which could be thought of as possession, it was ruled a violation. Team B inbounds after the violation, setting the arrow to team A when the throw-in is completed. Sorry I do not have case book for citation.

A1 can legally be the first to touch the ball after the jump ball has ended when it has touched another player or the floor.
Once the throw-in was placed at the disposal of Team B, the arrow should have been set to Team A.

So technically, waiting UNTIL the ball is inbounded is incorrect. HOWEVER, setting the arrow before the ball is at the disposal of the non-violating team is also incorrect. Based on the two situations, I believe that waiting is the better way to go. But I point it out to illustrate the finer point of the rule.

Your partner, unfortunately, was incorrect. This rule/interpretation (I forget which) was changed a few years ago. You nailed the call correctly.

Setting the arrow is 4.3 and the rule is 4.3.3a:

Quote:
ART. 3 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:
a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.
The interp was that control didn't happen because the control was illegal.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by shishstripes View Post
You were right in that arrow should have been set to team A. Although A1 did grab the ball, which could be thought of as possession, it was ruled a violation. Team B inbounds after the violation, setting the arrow to team A when the throw-in is completed. Sorry I do not have case book for citation.

A1 can legally be the first to touch the ball after the jump ball has ended when it has touched another player or the floor.

See this older but very similar thread where Nevada sets it straight: Jump Ball
I think in this sit the arrow is set immediatly to team A when at the disposal of the thrower from team B. You do not set it after the throw-in is complete. 6.4.1 sit E. It is still a violation to touch the ball more than twice also so you may have had a violaton before the one called if I read right
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump Ball lukealex Basketball 1 Thu Jun 16, 2005 01:12am
Jump Ball sharkref Basketball 33 Sun Mar 27, 2005 02:06pm
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am
Jump Ball 6'9'' with the afro Basketball 25 Sat Jun 21, 2003 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1