![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The "in the FC" language refers to the location of the player when he or she touches the ball. Not the status of the ball. In your play team A has control in FC. B1, located in FC, deflects ball into air. A2 steps into BC. He is now IN THE BC, not the FC. He catches ball in air. Yes the ball had FC status and simultaneously gets BC status when he touches it. But A2 was clearly in the BC when he touched the ball. B1 was the last person located in the FC to touch the ball. Let me know if there is a hole in this thought. |
|
|||
Quote:
What is the point you're trying to make? The location of the player and the status of the ball when he touches it are one and the same.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
When A2 touches the ball he is in the BC. The fact that the ball had FC status and simultaneously gained BC status with A2 touch doesn't matter because A2 is unquestionably in the BC when he touches. He cannot be the last to touch in FC because he's physically in the BC.
Last edited by BigCat; Tue Dec 27, 2016 at 12:34am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think everybody agrees with you on this. (except whoever wrote the infamous interp) A single player CAN do both things, but not at the same time.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
What I am saying is looking at the wording in rule it could be that the physical location of the player is what matters. The last person to touch ball IN THE FC refers to where the player is located at time of touch. A2 is not physically located in FC so he isn't last to touch it in FC. The fact that the ball in the air has FC status doesn't matter. Last edited by BigCat; Tue Dec 27, 2016 at 01:32am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Example: A1 in the backcourt at the division line makes a bounce pass laterally across the court such that it bounces in the frontcourt. A2, also in the backcourt catches the ball. That is a violation and neither A1 nor A2 were ever in the frontcourt. Back to your play...B1 was the last to touch a the ball that had frontcourt status before the ball returned to the backcourt where A2 was the first to touch the ball after the ball returned to the backcourt (touching it gave the ball backcourt status and A2 was still touching it a microsecond after first touching it...and more). Since B1 was the last to touch the ball before the ball returned to the backcourt, it is not a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Dec 27, 2016 at 02:32am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I guess it is. ;D
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
What also makes the interpretation silly, is they give no recognition a rule that states the ball touching a player is THE SAME as touching the floor in that spot. If it is not a bc violation if the ball hits the floor first, and a touching the ball is the same as the ball hitting the floor, how can 1 be a violation and 1 not?
They pay no mind to the intent of the rule. I wonder what the NCAA interpretation would be |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yes...on a throw-in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The NFHS published the same ruling as a POE. PS the NCAA should have written "muffs" instead of "fumbles" in the final play. |
|
|||
From NCAAW "Ask Jon:"
DATE: 1/22/2015 RULE: 9-13-4 QUESTION: A January 2015 Referee Magazine play has generated a great deal of discussion among Iowa WBB officials. Here's the play: Player and team control have been established in the front court. A1 passes to A2 in the front court and the ball is deflected up into the air by B1. A3 recovers the ball, which is still in the air, with both feet on the court in the back court. Is this a violation? Operating on the principle of last to touch/first to touch, it seems this should be legal. The defense was last to touch and caused the ball to go into the back court, but it technically still had front court status (because it is still in the air) when it was recovered by the offense - first to touch in the back court. ANSWER (REVISED): When we talk about a ball being returned from a team's frontcourt to its backcourt, the key as to whether or not we will have a violation rests with whether or not a member of that team was the last to touch the ball in their frontcourt and the first to touch the ball in its backcourt (9-13.4). In your play, B1 is the last player to touch the ball in Team A's front court, so any member of Team A may touch or secure control of the ball in Team A's backcourt. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the OP, the status of the ball does not matter, It's when/where/and by whom it is touched. I really don't see how a reasonable person could issue the interp. I know Referee Mag makes several errors but NFHS website? OK, BigCat already pointed this out, I didn't mean to pile on. I didn't see the 2nd page. Simple rule, let's not complicate it or overthink it.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. Last edited by Mregor; Wed Dec 28, 2016 at 10:14pm. Reason: BigCat already pointed this out. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Would this be a backcourt violation? | bas2456 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 02, 2009 09:28am |
Backcourt Violation? | rwest | Basketball | 6 | Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:41pm |
Backcourt Violation??? | electronics_project | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 09:57am |
Backcourt violation? | mrt1963 | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm |
Backcourt Violation? | Cornellref | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 08:26am |