The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 01:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 28
A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who has a) both feet in the frontcourt b) both feet out of bounds in the frontcourt (completing a throwin) - and jumps in midair THEN catches the pass and lands in the backcourt. Violation(s)? If in (b) there is a violation following a jump ball throw in, does the arrow change or stay the same? Thanks for any help - Cornellref
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by Cornellref
A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who has a) both feet in the frontcourt b) both feet out of bounds in the frontcourt (completing a throwin) - and jumps in midair THEN catches the pass and lands in the backcourt. Violation(s)? If in (b) there is a violation following a jump ball throw in, does the arrow change or stay the same? Thanks for any help - Cornellref
Situations A and B are both violations. The Player status of a player in the air is determined by where they last touched the floor. In B, it is an oob violation. In A, A2 has FC status in the air, catches the ball giving the ball front court status, then lands in BC, causing a BC violation.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Cornellref
If in (b) there is a violation following a jump ball throw in, does the arrow change or stay the same? Thanks for any help - Cornellref
RefinPA answered the first part of the question.

For the second part, the arrow changes. The arrow changes when the throw-in ends or when the throwing team violates.

In situation (b), the throw-in ended when A1 received (touched or was touched by) the throw-in

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 337
We had situation A occur in one of our games this weekend. Refs didn't call the violation. I thought it was, but wasn't sure (so didn't howl!). The next day, I asked the crew of another game. They told me it was a violation. Just wait 'til next time!
__________________
If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.

- Catherine Aird
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 08:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Cornellref
A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who has a) both feet in the frontcourt b) both feet out of bounds in the frontcourt (completing a throwin) - and jumps in midair THEN catches the pass and lands in the backcourt. Violation(s)? If in (b) there is a violation following a jump ball throw in, does the arrow change or stay the same? Thanks for any help - Cornellref
Cornellref,
Tough to understand your b sitches.

Location of an airborne player is where they last touched the floor.
In a), A2 caught the ball in the front court and landed in back court. Violation --> Over-and-back
In b), A2 caught the ball out of bounds (not FC or BC, but OOB) and landed in the back court. Violation --> Out of bounds.

mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1