The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Smile

A1 shoots and miss. B1 gets the defensive rebound and throws the ball upcourt for a fast break. Before the ball crosses the midcourt line, it was partially blocked by A2 but the ball still rolls across the midcourt line. A3 gets the loose ball from his own half and dribbles upcourt again.

Is this considered backcourt violation against team A considering that the ball touches A2, goes backcourt and is returned upcourt by A3.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
No, it's not. Team B had team control, therefore, it can't be a BC violation on A.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,049
For a backcourt violation to occur, you must have the following: Team A must have control in the frontcourt, Team A must be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, Team A must be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.

In your situation, Team A did not have control in the frontcourt, thus no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
For a backcourt violation to occur, you must have the following: Team A must have control in the frontcourt, Team A must be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt, Team A must be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.

In your situation, Team A did not have control in the frontcourt, thus no violation.
Let's make some minor corrections here.

#1 - Team A must have team control.

#2 - The ball must attain FC status.

#3 - Team A must be the last to touch the ball BEFORE it goes into the BC. (They do not have to touch it while it is in the FC.)

#4 - Team A must be the first to touch the ball AFTER it's been in the BC. (They do not have to touch it while it is in the BC.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,049
Thank You.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1