View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2016, 02:45am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mbilica View Post
I ran this by my IAABO interpreter and his ruling is a backcourt violation
Ask him about this play:
A1 is dribbling in his backcourt near the division line. B1 is defending A1 while standing fully in Team A's frontcourt. B1 reaches across the division line and bats the ball into A1's knee and the ball bounces away from the dribbler.
Is this a backcourt violation?

Now point out that the elements of that play are exactly the same as the one which you previously asked him. Team A has team control. When B1 bats the ball, the ball gains FC status while still in control on Team A. B1 knocked the ball in the air and it contacted A1 before touching the court in the backcourt. Therefore, when the ball struck A1's knee the status of the ball reverted to backcourt.

Hopefully, this will illustrate the silliness of the previous ruling. He would have to declare both situations to be backcourt violations to be consistent. My position, and that of most posters on this forum, is that neither situation is a violation.
Reply With Quote