![]() |
|
|
|||
Casebook play 9.2.2 Question.
So casebook play states....
Casebook 9.2.2: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who score a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B’s goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1’s disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7). So my question is for a situation if there was no made basket as in the above case. When do you whistle the ball dead and call the violation? After a 5 second count? |
|
|||
If there wasn't a made goal, an official is required to hand the ball to the thrower. He is going to be out of bounds before the official gives him the ball so this won't be a problem. If he steps inbounds prior to throwing the ball, it is a violation and a whistle at that point.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by tophat67; Tue Feb 09, 2016 at 09:49am. |
|
|||
As soon as B1 throws the ball (and it's meant as a throw-in, not just tossing the ball to b2 to become the inbounder), it's a violation. The play never gets far enough fro B to pass it around in the FC.
|
|
|||
Use your best judgment.
Did the player act as if he was throwing in the ball? If you said "yes" then you have a throw-in violation and you should blow the whistle and call it when it happens. Did the player toss the ball to his teammate in an attempt for him to make the throw-in, only for that player to misunderstand and dribble down the court? If you said "yes" to this, then you would start a count as soon as you deem the ball was at their disposal for the throw-in. So you may have a 5-second count before they realize their mistake and run back to make the throw-in legally. Now, there may be something else at play here that I'm not aware. So look out for other responses. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
There were two made goals in the OP. The OP's question was a little vague, but he meant to ask what would happen if the second goal was never made and B was just passing/dribbling the ball around. Nevadaref assumed he meant what if A had never scored.
|
|
|||
How is that? I assumed he meant the second shot as the first shot miss wouldn't make any sense for his question on when you call the violation. There is no violation on a miss because the player never went OOB for the throw-in.
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The one exception is the 3A varsity assigner who wants us to tell the players on this play and "correct" it for them. i.e. we get the ball and then pass it to them for a throw-in. The league is on the same page so I'm just going with whatever my assigner wants. |
|
|||
Quote:
No you don't. You do the correct thing and tell your assigner that the NFHS Basketball Rules Committee is very clear as to how this play is to be handled. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Correct thing for who? The league would go right on doing what it's doing. I on the other hand would lose $120 nights and 3A votes.
|
|
||||
Quote:
No one here gets games from the NFHS.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
The entire point of the case play is that it is a violation as soon as the team moves up the court bypassing the throwin for failing to execute the throwin from OOB. The 2nd goal in the case is just a distraction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Casebook Play Confusion. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 45 | Mon Nov 12, 2012 07:51pm |
ASA 2009 Casebook Play Confusion | SergioJ | Softball | 14 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 05:09pm |
Difference in ruling on same casebook play? | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 24 | Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:03pm |
NFHS 2008-09 Casebook Play 2.10.1 Situation D | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 4 | Fri Dec 05, 2008 01:17pm |
Rule 9.1.1 Casebook play, Dribbling off foot on freethrow | jritchie | Basketball | 11 | Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:10pm |