The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Game over.

4.09a states once a run has legally scored, it cannot be erased, no matter how hard one tries.
VM protests game (like Nemec says he should have).

ETA: there are lots of ways "legal runs" can get erased on appeal.
ETA: 4.09(b)...the umpire shall not declare the game over until the runner has touched home and the B/R has touched first [it the situation of a game ending on a bases loaded walk or HBP].

Last edited by Larry1953; Tue Jul 26, 2011 at 10:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
The run cannot be unscored

Remember the ball 4, R2 overruns 3rd base and is tagged out before R3 scores case play? Ruling run scores, out ends the inning.

Same ruling I have in this play, run scores, out at first on appeal. But that would not erase the winning run.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Remember the ball 4, R2 overruns 3rd base and is tagged out before R3 scores case play? Ruling run scores, out ends the inning.

Same ruling I have in this play, run scores, out at first on appeal. But that would not erase the winning run.
I also remember a rule that says a run cannot score if the third out is made by retiring the B/R before he touches first.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 27, 2011, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Remember the ball 4, R2 overruns 3rd base and is tagged out before R3 scores case play? Ruling run scores, out ends the inning.

Same ruling I have in this play, run scores, out at first on appeal. But that would not erase the winning run.
In Larry's play, the out at first (if there is one) is the third out of the inning, so no runs would score. Surely you can see how an out at first is different from a non-force out at third.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Half remembered something

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
VM protests game (like Nemec says he should have).

ETA: there are lots of ways "legal runs" can get erased on appeal.
ETA: 4.09(b)...the umpire shall not declare the game over until the runner has touched home and the B/R has touched first [it the situation of a game ending on a bases loaded walk or HBP].
Recently, similar play in state playoff game. Protest on B/R's actions was not allowed to erase winning run. Perhaps someone can provide newspaper clipping.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball/Strike count confusion donj Baseball 5 Tue Jun 07, 2011 02:55pm
Throw-in the ball from bottom, is it count? mendi Basketball 15 Sun Jul 26, 2009 08:25pm
Dead Ball or Count the Basket williebfree Basketball 5 Fri Feb 17, 2006 06:25am
Air Ball - 3 Sec Count?? yukonmiller Basketball 8 Sat Feb 04, 2006 01:44pm
Count the bucket? Dead Ball? Act like you didn't see it? fletch_irwin_m Basketball 14 Tue Feb 25, 2003 11:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1