![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It is at least as interesting as spending 3 or 4 pages on what is the best shade of gray for an ump's pants, IMHO. But I guess you real umpires have different priorities. From the looks of the way the game is being ump'ed at the MLB level, it certainly shows. But they sure look cute in their blue polos and charcoal gray pants and twin ball sacks. Carry on....
|
|
|||
|
score run
Game over.
4.09a states once a run has legally scored, it cannot be erased, no matter how hard one tries.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 26, 2011 at 10:13pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
ETA: there are lots of ways "legal runs" can get erased on appeal. ETA: 4.09(b)...the umpire shall not declare the game over until the runner has touched home and the B/R has touched first [it the situation of a game ending on a bases loaded walk or HBP]. Last edited by Larry1953; Tue Jul 26, 2011 at 10:33pm. |
|
|||
|
The run cannot be unscored
Remember the ball 4, R2 overruns 3rd base and is tagged out before R3 scores case play? Ruling run scores, out ends the inning.
Same ruling I have in this play, run scores, out at first on appeal. But that would not erase the winning run.
__________________
SAump
|
|
|||
|
I also remember a rule that says a run cannot score if the third out is made by retiring the B/R before he touches first.
|
|
|||
|
In Larry's play, the out at first (if there is one) is the third out of the inning, so no runs would score. Surely you can see how an out at first is different from a non-force out at third.
|
|
|||
|
Half remembered something
Quote:
__________________
SAump
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Good work. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Had one in LL, bottom 6, tie game, sacks juiced. Ball 4 to B1. R3 touches home; dugout erupts. B1 does not touch first, but stays in live ball territory.
I am U2, but I stay on the field, watching B1. Finally, someone tells him to go touch first. As he runs to 1B, F2--honest--throws to F3, who tags B1 before he touches the sack. As soon as B1 hit the bag, I hightailed it out of there. In the parking lot, VC (very civilly) asked me why B1 wasn't called out on the tag. I said, "New rule, coach. When a batter gets four balls, he gets to proceed, unmolested, to first base." Slight chuckle.
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
PS - no run. No thought required.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I had nearly this play a couple of years ago and posted it here. Tie game. Bottom 7. R3 with 2 outs. 3-1 count. Ball 4 bounces in the dirt and goes to the backstop. R3 comes in to score.
B/R gets about 20 feet toward 1st base when his dugout (1st base side) empties to celebrate the win. He joins the celebration and never reaches 1st base (and also never makes it to the dugout). There was much debate as to whether the B/R can be called out for abandonment (and at what point that happens.) Best advice I had from this forum: as soon as I see the dugout empty, yell, "Stop. The game is not over." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ball/Strike count confusion | donj | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 07, 2011 02:55pm |
| Throw-in the ball from bottom, is it count? | mendi | Basketball | 15 | Sun Jul 26, 2009 08:25pm |
| Dead Ball or Count the Basket | williebfree | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 17, 2006 06:25am |
| Air Ball - 3 Sec Count?? | yukonmiller | Basketball | 8 | Sat Feb 04, 2006 01:44pm |
| Count the bucket? Dead Ball? Act like you didn't see it? | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 25, 2003 11:13am |