The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
D is the only choice for 2, as lousy as it is.
But, if D is correct, then it was Type 2 OBS. That makes answers B and C also correct.

If it was Type 1, then the first two parts of A are correct, but I'd disagree with the award to BR (and the reasoning).

Quote:
3 has to be a mistake. A, B and C are all valid reasons to pause the clock, D is not. The question should read: "In which of the following situations should the pitch clock not be paused?"
That makes sense, but I'm not sure you can answer a test question based on the question being a typo.

Good questions by Ceasers Ghost and UMPTTS43. I'm sure I'll see one or more of them on my test.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
Two more questions:

2. R2, R3, two outs. The pitcher bobbles a come-backer and seeing that he has no play at 1B, throws to F5 who tags out R2. However, R2 was obstructed by F6 on his way to third. The BR rounds first base too wide and F5 throws behind the BR and the BR is called out.

a.The ball is "dead" on the obstruction of R2 by F6. Score R3, award R2 third and award BR second if he had touched first before the obstruction of R2.
b.R2 is out for the third out. The other action occurred after the side had been retired.
c.Inning is over, the out stands for the third out.
d.If R3 has not touched home when the BR is called out, the run would not count.
It looks like C and D to me. I've got Type B (Or "2") OBS on F6. The ball stays live and the BR is liable to be put out. He is the third out. If he is tagged before R3 touches home, the run would not count. Am I missing something here?

Quote:
3. The pitch clock is paused for any of the following reasons,

a.A fielder is delayed in returning to his position after attempting to field a foul ball.
b.The batter is delayed in returning to the dirt area around home plate following his running out of a foul ball.
c.The pitcher is delayed in returning to the dirt circle because he was backing up a play.
d.The pitcher disengages the pitching rubber.
From my reading, the pitch clock could be paused in A, B, and C.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 07:08pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
This is a question from the NCAA test. The NCAA OBS rule is now the same as OBR. Let me know what you think and why. I believe there is no correct answer.

R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is obstructed. After obstruction has been called on F4, R3 is thrown out at the plate.

a. R1 is returned to first base and R3 is awarded home.
b. Award R1 third base on the obstruction.
c. R3 is awarded home since he was advancing to the plate when obstruction was called and R1 is awarded second base.
d. The out on R3 stands
This is C for sure. Go to MLB.com and search a few videos. Unfortunately you have to search "Interference" (I know the difference, but that's what you have to search to see examples) ball is immediately dead in the sitch you describe.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Thanks for all the replies.

Since we know that the ball is immediately dead on the OBS and the runner is awarded at least one base, answers a and d are invalid.

In no way would you award R1 third for this infraction. B is now done.

The answer has to be c, but I would not award R3 home in that situation.

Other questions have popped up that are just as vague and/or miswritten.

I'm sure the NCAA will come out with rewrites and interps when the testing time is done.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Man, who writes these NCAA tests? The same guy that writes the NFHS tests?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
This is a question from the NCAA test. The NCAA OBS rule is now the same as OBR. Let me know what you think and why. I believe there is no correct answer.

R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is obstructed. After obstruction has been called on F4, R3 is thrown out at the plate.

a. R1 is returned to first base and R3 is awarded home.
b. Award R1 third base on the obstruction.
c. R3 is awarded home since he was advancing to the plate when obstruction was called and R1 is awarded second base.
d. The out on R3 stands
Take each play as it goes..

R1 is in a rundown, and gets Obstructed? That is considered a play on a runner, which makes the ball "Dead" and since R3 had not advanced to his next base he is sent back to his base unless he was forced, and in this play R3 was not forced.. Since R1 is awarded 1 base from his last legally touched base R1 would be sent to 2nd. and the same for R3 he gets sent back to his last legally touched base which is 3rd... So really there is no correct answer here.. If you want I can ask to the Pro guys here at school?
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpmazza View Post
Take each play as it goes..

R1 is in a rundown, and gets Obstructed? That is considered a play on a runner, which makes the ball "Dead" and since R3 had not advanced to his next base he is sent back to his base unless he was forced, and in this play R3 was not forced..
The placement of R3 is at the discretion of the umpire.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
The placement of R3 is at the discretion of the umpire.
well actually it is not.. we just went over all this at Harry's.. and had a question very similar to this play..
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpmazza View Post
well actually it is not.. we just went over all this at Harry's.. and had a question very similar to this play..
"All runners shall be awarded the bases they would have reached had there been no obstruction." That isn't umpire discretion?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 11:51pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
I don't see a correct answer. Obstructed runner being played upon advances one base, ball is dead and all other runners are awarded the base they would have achieved, absent the dead ball. Since R3 was thrown out at home it is not likely he would have achieved home so he should not be awarded home, he should be returned to 3b since the ball was dead when the out was made. C is closest answer but don't seem right to me.

Can't see an out after a dead ball, and hard to see R3 awarded home since he can't reasonably be expected to have achieved it absent the obstruction. I am assuming that R3 did not pull up and stop running when type 1 obstruction was called and that was reason for him being thrown out, in which case C is surely correct.

In any event C is best answer of the ones provided.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
"All runners shall be awarded the bases they would have reached had there been no obstruction." That isn't umpire discretion?
yes in type "B" obstruction.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
ncaa test question newump Baseball 16 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:28pm
NCAA Test Question All_Heart Basketball 12 Tue Nov 21, 2006 06:30pm
Question on ncaa test jritchie Basketball 2 Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:45am
NCAA Test Question rockyroad Basketball 17 Fri Oct 24, 2003 07:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1