Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost
Thanks for the help. Still not sure what I am going to do.
One more, does NCAA have the same ruling about a batted ball that could go fair as pro rules has? That makes the difference between c and d being correct.
4. R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.
a.Score one run and put the batter at first base.
b.Score three runs and put the batter at first base.
c.Foul ball.
d.Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
|
CG, I am inclined to answer 'c'.
8-3-g only speaks of detached equipment with regards to fair batted balls. That would be a three base award. That eliminates b and d. As the ball was touched by the player in foul territory I don't see how I can award a base which would force a run to score.
I will take the test tonight or tomorrow and hope our discussion helps settle things. If I am incorrect in my application of rule here please let me know. Thanks.