The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
A couple of things concerning this sitch and pro rules:

a: there is no relaxed/unrelaxed terminology
b: although some things are the same, missed home plate and a missed base are two different senarios and fall under different rules
c: the appeal process is treated differently when a player misses a base he was forced to or the BR missing first base versus a non force missed base, tag play.

If a player misses the base he is forced to or the BR misses first, the fielder can either tag the runner or the base regardless if the runner is attemping to return during the appeal attempt. This is a force play situation.

When a runner misses a base in a non force situation (tag play), if the runner is attemping to get back, this is still considered a tag play and the player must be tagged. This is a tag play situation. If the runner advances or is not trying to correct his missed base error, then the base may be tagged in lieu of tagging the runner.

I know what JR says. I don't care and neither does MLB.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
So....

TT,

I believe you work somewhere in pro ball.... So, under MLB/MiLB as constituted, if F3 dives back to the bag, when the BR misses the bag, it is considered an appeal, vocal or not. And if he hits the bag before the BR, he's out. And it must be an intentional act, not an unintentional act.

Is this correct?



Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
A couple of things concerning this sitch and pro rules:

a: there is no relaxed/unrelaxed terminology
b: although some things are the same, missed home plate and a missed base are two different senarios and fall under different rules
c: the appeal process is treated differently when a player misses a base he was forced to or the BR missing first base versus a non force missed base, tag play.

If a player misses the base he is forced to or the BR misses first, the fielder can either tag the runner or the base regardless if the runner is attemping to return during the appeal attempt. This is a force play situation.

When a runner misses a base in a non force situation (tag play), if the runner is attemping to get back, this is still considered a tag play and the player must be tagged. This is a tag play situation. If the runner advances or is not trying to correct his missed base error, then the base may be tagged in lieu of tagging the runner.

I know what JR says. I don't care and neither does MLB.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkumpire View Post
TT,

I believe you work somewhere in pro ball.... So, under MLB/MiLB as constituted, if F3 dives back to the bag, when the BR misses the bag, it is considered an appeal, vocal or not. And if he hits the bag before the BR, he's out. And it must be an intentional act, not an unintentional act.

Is this correct?
Yes it is an appeal. However, if no verbal indication is given, F3's actions must be judged to be "an act that unmistakably indictes an appeal to the umpire."

I know you know this, but, if a runner beats the throw to first and subsequently misses it, F3's touch of first as a result of the attempted play to initially retire the BR is not considered an appeal and an out is not recorded. A simple "safe" mechanic is used.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 04:20pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Yes it is an appeal. However, if no verbal indication is given, F3's actions must be judged to be "an act that unmistakably indictes an appeal to the umpire."

I know you know this, but, if a runner beats the throw to first and subsequently misses it, F3's touch of first as a result of the attempted play to initially retire the BR is not considered an appeal and an out is not recorded. A simple "safe" mechanic is used.
OK I can buy that, thanks.

Does the MLBUM or PBUC Manual discuss this situation?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Welpe,

The 2009 MLBUM covers it in play #12 of Section 5.4.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 04:55pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Thanks, John.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2010, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
Thanks John as well.

Since I assume your name is John, thanks. You are correct about what I know on the play, and I am glad that I have been teaching people the right way to make this call.

Let me bring something to your attention, for your comment: Earlier in the thread you said that MLB and MiLB do not care or use the terms "relaxed or unrelaxed action." However, when the concept was first pushed, it was my impression that it was professional baseball who had it as an interpretation, not just J/R.

If you, or some of the other long term vets can recall differently where the concept first came from, and got put into popular usage, I would appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal play youngump Softball 12 Mon Feb 06, 2012 05:44pm
Appeal Play goldcoastump Softball 8 Sun May 11, 2008 11:53am
This is an appeal play, right? John Robertson Softball 9 Wed Aug 16, 2006 06:00pm
OBR Appeal Play JCurrie Baseball 5 Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:23am
ASA appeal play oppool Softball 2 Fri Feb 23, 2001 10:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1