The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:01pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I don't think the U1 called him out for the appeal, I think he called him out because he had F3 tagging the base before the BR, ie a normal play.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I don't think the U1 called him out for the appeal, I think he called him out because he had F3 tagging the base before the BR, ie a normal play.
It's a missed base appeal. The runner acquired the base before being tagged because he passed it. Since he missed the base, he was liable to be put out on appeal, which F3 accomplished by tagging the base.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It's a missed base appeal. The runner acquired the base before being tagged because he passed it. Since he missed the base, he was liable to be put out on appeal, which F3 accomplished by tagging the base.
And, the appeal was obvious (i.e., F3's glove didn't land on the base accidentally while trying to make the play).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:30pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It's a missed base appeal. The runner acquired the base before being tagged because he passed it. Since he missed the base, he was liable to be put out on appeal, which F3 accomplished by tagging the base.
I know that it is supposed to be a missed base appeal but I think the U1 simply judged it as a normal "force" play at first.

I was under the impression that with unrelaxed action, the runner had to be tagged. Or is that specific only to plays at the plate?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:48pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I know that it is supposed to be a missed base appeal but I think the U1 simply judged it as a normal "force" play at first.

I was under the impression that with unrelaxed action, the runner had to be tagged. Or is that specific only to plays at the plate?
This is one of the reasons why I posted the question...wondering if it turned into a tag play...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
I was thinking the runner needed to be tagged if he is attempting to return to a base he missed. The rule book addresses a runner missing the plate but I don't see anything about other bases. I still think he would need to be tagged.

Last edited by Mrumpiresir; Wed Aug 11, 2010 at 04:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I know that it is supposed to be a missed base appeal but I think the U1 simply judged it as a normal "force" play at first.

I was under the impression that with unrelaxed action, the runner had to be tagged. Or is that specific only to plays at the plate?
It could not have been any kind of force play, since the BR is never forced to 1B. Moreover, it couldn't be a normal play on the BR, because he had already acquired the base by passing it. Had he touched the base on the way by, he would have been safe.

This looked like relaxed action to me: the runner was not attempting to return when the base was tagged.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It could not have been any kind of force play, since the BR is never forced to 1B. Moreover, it couldn't be a normal play on the BR, because he had already acquired the base by passing it. Had he touched the base on the way by, he would have been safe.

This looked like relaxed action to me: the runner was not attempting to return when the base was tagged.
I gotta disagree. It looked to me like the runner was trying to get back to the bag. I still think he needs to be tagged.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 08:58pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It could not have been any kind of force play, since the BR is never forced to 1B.
We both know that...hence why I put force in quotes. I said it merely to be expedient.

Quote:
Moreover, it couldn't be a normal play on the BR, because he had already acquired the base by passing it. Had he touched the base on the way by, he would have been safe.
I agree but I am wondering if that is how the U1 ruled.

Quote:
This looked like relaxed action to me: the runner was not attempting to return when the base was tagged.
I disagree, the BR seems to be coming back to the bag to me. Regardless, say that in your opinion the action were unrelaxed, would you still consider a tag of the base to be enough for the appeal?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 06:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Regardless, say that in your opinion the action were unrelaxed, would you still consider a tag of the base to be enough for the appeal?
The reason for making the relaxed/unrelaxed distinction is that the BR is permitted by rule to overrun 1B without liability to be put out. So we allow a missed base appeal by just tagging the base during unrelaxed action because the BR is making no attempt to correct his mistake. It speeds things up.

I have heard that MLB is moving away from relaxed/unrelaxed, but I like it. It makes sense to me. So, to answer your question, no: I would require that the runner be tagged.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 09:01am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
OK, thanks.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
So we allow a missed base appeal by just tagging the base during unrelaxed action because the BR is making no attempt to correct his mistake. It speeds things up.
I'm sure you meant "during relaxed action".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post

This looked like relaxed action to me: the runner was not attempting to return when the base was tagged.
The runner turned, headed for the bag, stumbled and gave up when the bag was touched.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I don't think the U1 called him out for the appeal, I think he called him out because he had F3 tagging the base before the BR, ie a normal play.
Honestly, I doubt he thought about the reason for calling the out at all. Had it mattered (2 outs, R3 for example), I'm sure it would have popped into his (and PU's) mind slightly after the call that it was not a force, and was a timing play. Since it didn't matter, I'm sure he just called what he saw - and perhaps mused on it between innings.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 11, 2010, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Had it mattered (2 outs, R3 for example), I'm sure it would have popped into his (and PU's) mind slightly after the call that it was not a force, and was a timing play.
Mike, I'm sure you know that (a) the BR attempting to acquire 1B is never technically a force play, and (b) this is not a time play, and no run could have scored had there been R3 and this the 3rd out (4.09(a)).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal play youngump Softball 12 Mon Feb 06, 2012 05:44pm
Appeal Play goldcoastump Softball 8 Sun May 11, 2008 11:53am
This is an appeal play, right? John Robertson Softball 9 Wed Aug 16, 2006 06:00pm
OBR Appeal Play JCurrie Baseball 5 Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:23am
ASA appeal play oppool Softball 2 Fri Feb 23, 2001 10:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1