![]() |
|
|
|||
It's a missed base appeal. The runner acquired the base before being tagged because he passed it. Since he missed the base, he was liable to be put out on appeal, which F3 accomplished by tagging the base.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
And, the appeal was obvious (i.e., F3's glove didn't land on the base accidentally while trying to make the play).
|
|
|||
Quote:
I was under the impression that with unrelaxed action, the runner had to be tagged. Or is that specific only to plays at the plate?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
This is one of the reasons why I posted the question...wondering if it turned into a tag play...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
I was thinking the runner needed to be tagged if he is attempting to return to a base he missed. The rule book addresses a runner missing the plate but I don't see anything about other bases. I still think he would need to be tagged.
Last edited by Mrumpiresir; Wed Aug 11, 2010 at 04:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
This looked like relaxed action to me: the runner was not attempting to return when the base was tagged.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
I have heard that MLB is moving away from relaxed/unrelaxed, but I like it. It makes sense to me. So, to answer your question, no: I would require that the runner be tagged.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I'm sure you meant "during relaxed action".
|
|
|||
A couple of things concerning this sitch and pro rules:
a: there is no relaxed/unrelaxed terminology b: although some things are the same, missed home plate and a missed base are two different senarios and fall under different rules c: the appeal process is treated differently when a player misses a base he was forced to or the BR missing first base versus a non force missed base, tag play. If a player misses the base he is forced to or the BR misses first, the fielder can either tag the runner or the base regardless if the runner is attemping to return during the appeal attempt. This is a force play situation. When a runner misses a base in a non force situation (tag play), if the runner is attemping to get back, this is still considered a tag play and the player must be tagged. This is a tag play situation. If the runner advances or is not trying to correct his missed base error, then the base may be tagged in lieu of tagging the runner. I know what JR says. I don't care and neither does MLB. |
|
|||
The runner turned, headed for the bag, stumbled and gave up when the bag was touched.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Appeal play | youngump | Softball | 12 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 05:44pm |
Appeal Play | goldcoastump | Softball | 8 | Sun May 11, 2008 11:53am |
This is an appeal play, right? | John Robertson | Softball | 9 | Wed Aug 16, 2006 06:00pm |
OBR Appeal Play | JCurrie | Baseball | 5 | Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:23am |
ASA appeal play | oppool | Softball | 2 | Fri Feb 23, 2001 10:47pm |