![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
And there were two different coach question references in the OP - how about the second one?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
No, I quoted the post I meant to post. Sorry if it's not the one you wanted.
I don't believe the that quote is a valid appeal of one runner, much less two. |
|
|||
Quote:
You mean I can't say, in one sentence, "I'm appealing that R2 and R3 both left early"? and You expect me to believe that's not valid? And that's what you quoted in the response. So given the confusion as to what referred to what, So please answer my questions above. And BTW yes, in the original OP I really think he was appealing both runners.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Wow, I didn't expect this post to go one like it has although IMO it has been very informative. But let me try and clear up, as the Original Poster, a couple of items.
First, let me make this clear that the coach was not trying to appeal both runners leaving ealier in 1 appeal..... He wasn't sure, IMO because of the BU not "selling" the catch, if there was a catch.... Then, after determining there was he went fishing I think this is significate due to the fact that his appeal could, and as we found out, did make a difference in a run counting. I also, will it might be a valid request as suggested by Rich, would still have the coach give his order of appeal because the outcome of the appeal isn't based on what the HC beleives but on what the PU or BU has seen. This could also result in runs counting or not counting. Again, thanks for the information shared. It has been helpful. |
|
|||
Quote:
8.2.2h: Following an inside-the-park home run, the defense appeals that both runners on base and the batter missed third base as they advanced to home. RULING: This is a legal appeal. The umpire will rule depending on his judgment of the play. So, multiple appeals can be made at the same time. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
After reading this year's clarification to 9-1-1d I'm wondering if that run scores even if the coach does not appeal R3.
"When a third out is declared during a play resulting from a legal defensive appeal, which results in a force out (this out takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score)... |
|
|||
Quote:
"Is that what he (the coach in the OP said?" Quote:
My read of the post is that he did not. Quote:
He, at best, asked a rule question, which could have been a precursor to an appeal. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
3rd out on appeal | CecilOne | Softball | 39 | Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:25pm |
4th Out Appeal | cshs81 | Baseball | 7 | Sun May 06, 2007 05:33pm |
Appeal this | spots101 | Baseball | 4 | Tue Feb 18, 2003 11:18pm |
Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |
Out on Appeal ??? | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am |