![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
8.2.2h: Following an inside-the-park home run, the defense appeals that both runners on base and the batter missed third base as they advanced to home. RULING: This is a legal appeal. The umpire will rule depending on his judgment of the play. So, multiple appeals can be made at the same time. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
After reading this year's clarification to 9-1-1d I'm wondering if that run scores even if the coach does not appeal R3.
"When a third out is declared during a play resulting from a legal defensive appeal, which results in a force out (this out takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score)... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
![]()
biggravy,
It can only come into play on a missed base appeal when the runner was forced to the base he missed. A failure to retouch appeal can never be a force out because the BR has been put out on the catch, thereby removing any forces. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Sorry, I can be incredibly slow sometimes. I'm still wondering if it's incorrect to score this run under FED.
9-1-1 Exception C says "A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: C. by a preceding runner who is declared out upon appeal because he failed to touch one of the bases or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
3rd out on appeal | CecilOne | Softball | 39 | Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:25pm |
4th Out Appeal | cshs81 | Baseball | 7 | Sun May 06, 2007 05:33pm |
Appeal this | spots101 | Baseball | 4 | Tue Feb 18, 2003 11:18pm |
Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |
Out on Appeal ??? | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am |