The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 21, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 91
Wow, I didn't expect this post to go one like it has although IMO it has been very informative. But let me try and clear up, as the Original Poster, a couple of items.

First, let me make this clear that the coach was not trying to appeal both runners leaving ealier in 1 appeal..... He wasn't sure, IMO because of the BU not "selling" the catch, if there was a catch.... Then, after determining there was he went fishing

I think this is significate due to the fact that his appeal could, and as we found out, did make a difference in a run counting.

I also, will it might be a valid request as suggested by Rich, would still have the coach give his order of appeal because the outcome of the appeal isn't based on what the HC beleives but on what the PU or BU has seen. This could also result in runs counting or not counting.

Again, thanks for the information shared. It has been helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug View Post
I also, will it might be a valid request as suggested by Rich, would still have the coach give his order of appeal because the outcome of the appeal isn't based on what the HC beleives but on what the PU or BU has seen. This could also result in runs counting or not counting.
It appears we all (W'all?) may be wrong:
8.2.2h: Following an inside-the-park home run, the defense appeals that both runners on base and the batter missed third base as they advanced to home.
RULING: This is a legal appeal. The umpire will rule depending on his judgment of the play.

So, multiple appeals can be made at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
It appears we all (W'all?) may be wrong:
8.2.2h: Following an inside-the-park home run, the defense appeals that both runners on base and the batter missed third base as they advanced to home.
RULING: This is a legal appeal. The umpire will rule depending on his judgment of the play.

So, multiple appeals can be made at the same time.
No one said that they can't be...it's in the how.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 253
After reading this year's clarification to 9-1-1d I'm wondering if that run scores even if the coach does not appeal R3.

"When a third out is declared during a play resulting from a legal defensive appeal, which results in a force out (this out takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score)...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggravy View Post
After reading this year's clarification to 9-1-1d I'm wondering if that run scores even if the coach does not appeal R3.

"When a third out is declared during a play resulting from a legal defensive appeal, which results in a force out (this out takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score)...
There wasn't any force out in the play at hand.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
There wasn't any force out in the play at hand.
Help me out then how and when would that rule come into play?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggravy View Post
Help me out then how and when would that rule come into play?
biggravy,

It can only come into play on a missed base appeal when the runner was forced to the base he missed.

A failure to retouch appeal can never be a force out because the BR has been put out on the catch, thereby removing any forces.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd out on appeal CecilOne Softball 39 Sat Jun 30, 2007 08:25pm
4th Out Appeal cshs81 Baseball 7 Sun May 06, 2007 05:33pm
Appeal this spots101 Baseball 4 Tue Feb 18, 2003 11:18pm
Appeal Prince Baseball 3 Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm
Out on Appeal ??? Bandit Softball 2 Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1