The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Gameplay situation I need a ruling on

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base.
I agree with your opinion if no runners have scored during the play. I will disagree if a runner has scored where the BR was retired for the third out. By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routine Situation and Odd Ruling Ref Ump Welsch Softball 39 Wed May 06, 2009 03:03pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
T Situation Ruling BigGref Basketball 11 Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:35pm
Need help on a ruling kimo Softball 34 Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm
Ruling help hoopcoach98 Basketball 11 Mon Apr 01, 2002 04:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1