![]() |
|
|
|||
Gameplay Situation I need a ruling on
Here's the situation...
Two outs, runners on second and third. There's a ground ball hit to short and both runners run on contact. The shortstop throws to third and the third baseman completes the tag play on the runner trying to advance to third for the final out of the inning. The batter-runner didn't make it to first before the tag was made, but for arguments sake we'll say the runner from third did cross the plate before the tag was made. Does the run score? Or does the run not count because of the batter not getting to first and the third out of the inning being made? Any help and/or references to an official rulebook would be incredibly helpful. Thanks guys. |
|
|||
OBR 4.09 "A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases."
Not sure your going to find a definition of Time-Play in the rule book but, as Rich has stated, it does make reference to the reason the run would score. |
|
|||
I was BU a couple of years ago on a play very similar to this.
My partner and I were working our third game in VERY hot heat. He lined it up perfectly and said, "The Run Counts" and pointed. Then he looked sheepishly at me and said just as loudly, "Of course, because there are now only two outs." Everybody cracked up. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Routine Situation and Odd Ruling | Ref Ump Welsch | Softball | 39 | Wed May 06, 2009 03:03pm |
HELP WITH A RULING | jason181988 | Baseball | 12 | Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm |
T Situation Ruling | BigGref | Basketball | 11 | Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:35pm |
Need help on a ruling | kimo | Softball | 34 | Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm |
Ruling help | hoopcoach98 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2002 04:09pm |