![]() |
|
|
|||
Gameplay situation I need a ruling on
Quote:
In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged. |
|
|||
Quote:
Other posters have shown that not touching first on the OP play is not appealable, so I don't see how you wouldn't count the run nopachunts. Whether he touches first or not is irrelevant on the non-force 3rd out of R2, and the defense can't appeal the BR not touching first. Thus, score the run. |
|
|||
This play has been around since Al Gore invented the interwebs:
R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?). Does the run count? |
|
|||
Later afternoon game that ends in the evening.
![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Directly from the MLBUM page 42 in relation to rule 4.09 OBR:
1. No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base. 2. No run shall score during a play in which the third out is a force out. 3. Following runners are not affected by an act of a preceeding runner unless two are out. It doesn't really talk about the advantageous 4th out appeal here. I think they would have to execute the 4th out appeal in order to nullify the run based on #1.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
From OBR rule 7.10, page 74:
Appeal plays may require an umpire to recognize an apparent "fourth out"." If the third out is made during a play in which an appeal play is sustained on another runner, the appeal play decision takes precedence in determining the out. If there is more than one appeal during a play that ends a half-inning, the defense may elect to take the out that gives it the advantage. For the purpose of this rule, the defensive team has "left the field" when the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory on their way to the bench or clubhouse.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Routine Situation and Odd Ruling | Ref Ump Welsch | Softball | 39 | Wed May 06, 2009 03:03pm |
HELP WITH A RULING | jason181988 | Baseball | 12 | Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm |
T Situation Ruling | BigGref | Basketball | 11 | Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:35pm |
Need help on a ruling | kimo | Softball | 34 | Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm |
Ruling help | hoopcoach98 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 01, 2002 04:09pm |