The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
Note that the batter runner still needs to tag first. Otherwise, the defense could get a fourth out at first base. This would nullify the run.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by starman View Post
Note that the batter runner still needs to tag first. Otherwise, the defense could get a fourth out at first base. This would nullify the run.
I would LOVE to see this rule.

FWIW J/R is wrong on this in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 11:07am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
What page in J/R...I want to check out their take
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
I would LOVE to see this rule.

FWIW J/R is wrong on this in my opinion.
Not sure what you mean by this? Rule 7.10d covers 4th outs. Is the "rule" you are referring too the interp from J/R? Please expand on this as I see the defense appealing that the B/R never touched 1B to nullify a run to be a legal & smart play.
__________________
Ump Rube
-----------------------------------------------------
Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays.
Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN.

Last edited by Ump Rube; Tue Aug 11, 2009 at 11:15am. Reason: Bad writing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Johnnyg - I don't own a J/R manual, but I have been told that they consider a "fourth out appeal" of the BR not reaching 1st a legal appeal.

Rube - 7.10d deals with a missed home plate appeal.

Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base. There are only four types of appeals that can result in a runner being called out. Out of the four, only three can result in an umpire recognizing an apparent "fourth out." The four are: 1) failure to properly tag up on a caught fly ball, 2) missed base, 3) failure of BR "immediately" returning to 1st after over running it, and 4) missed home plate. Number 3 is irrelevant due to the fact that the BR need not return to 1st base after the third out has been recorded. There is no appeal for "not reaching a base" after three outs have been recorded. An umpire cannot use abandonment in this case either, since abandonment is not an appeal play, thus resulting in a "time" play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Gameplay situation I need a ruling on

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base.
I agree with your opinion if no runners have scored during the play. I will disagree if a runner has scored where the BR was retired for the third out. By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.
I think the rule is no run can score IF the BR is put out before reaching first, not if he doesn't reach first safely. Two different things it seems, and importantly so.

Other posters have shown that not touching first on the OP play is not appealable, so I don't see how you wouldn't count the run nopachunts. Whether he touches first or not is irrelevant on the non-force 3rd out of R2, and the defense can't appeal the BR not touching first. Thus, score the run.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
This play has been around since Al Gore invented the interwebs:

R2, R3, two outs. B5 grounds to F6. As B5 runs toward first, he stumbles, breaks his ankle and lies writhing in pain on the ground. The following happens in order: R3 touches the plate. F6 throws the ball to F5 who tags R2 (three outs). F5 throws to F3 who steps on first (4 outs?).

Does the run count?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:40pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87
Here is the relevant portion of a post by someone identified as "Wendlestedt" at the Wendlestedt message board:

This is a base (first) never reached, not one which was not touched or not properly tagged up from. There is no appeal for never reaching a base. Unfortunately, neither Jaska and Roder have been in the game for sometime now, and even when they were, they were so analytical with the rules that they often failed to get what the rulebook intended for. That is what I expect happened in this case. They are what we call at umpire school "rule book lawyers".

Walk off Walk - Umpire School Forum
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 48
I was not thinking of an appeal play. In the orignal play description, I was thining that the third baseman could throw to first to get a fourth out before the batter reaches first.

I just looked in the MLB rule book, and I confess that I did not find anything that clearly justifies this.

That is why I usually just read this board and keep my mouth shut
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 01:18pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
J/R advantageous 4th out appeal play page citations: 20,32,44,49,77,87
One citation I will happily ignore.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:34pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump Rube View Post
Not sure what you mean by this? Rule 7.10d covers 4th outs. Is the "rule" you are referring too the interp from J/R? Please expand on this as I see the defense appealing that the B/R never touched 1B to nullify a run to be a legal & smart play.
4.09(b) and PENALTY is only applicable when it's the winning run in the bottom of the last inning, or the bottom of an extra inning. Then the BR must touch first or the run is nullified. At the end of any other inning, the BR is not required by rule to touch 1st base. If the run scores before the tag on an unforced runner, it counts and position of the BR is irrelevant.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 12, 2009, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Customs and Traditions

With two outs, you have to find a ruling you like. I tend to enforce the same ruling when there are NO outs, one out or two outs.

Case: 2 outs, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. Does it count as an advantageous 4th out and take away the run scored by R3? I say it does and if you don't want to agree with SAump, fine.

Would your ruling change with 1 out?

Case: 1 out, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. Does it count as the 3rd out and take away the run scored by R3? I say it does and if you don't want to agree with SAump, fine.

Would your ruling change with 0 out?

Case: 0 out, R3, R2, ground ball to OF fired home. R3 scores easily and R2 is thrown out at the plate. The B/R returns to the plate to pick up the bat and instruct R2 to slide. The pitcher sees the B/R's action and tells the catcher to fire the ball to 1B for an out. 2 outs?

I have not seen a ruling which states the B/R has no obligation to continue running to 1B when the 3rd out has been made on another runner.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Wed Aug 12, 2009 at 01:06pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routine Situation and Odd Ruling Ref Ump Welsch Softball 39 Wed May 06, 2009 03:03pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
T Situation Ruling BigGref Basketball 11 Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:35pm
Need help on a ruling kimo Softball 34 Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm
Ruling help hoopcoach98 Basketball 11 Mon Apr 01, 2002 04:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1