![]() |
|
|
|||
Abandonment???
Game last night I was BU. R2 so I am in C. BR hits grounder to short. Throw from short is low and not dug out by the first baseman. I call the runner safe. The runner apparently thought he was out and was walking back to the dugout where he was tagged (on the dugout side of the 1st base coaching box below the bag). I called him out. I got a mild argument for the O coach but nothing bad.
After the game I looked up abandonment in JR (which I don't have with me now) which says something to the effect that this would be abandonment if the BR has no intent of returning to the base. He had no intent until the first baseman ran over to tag him. Would this be abandonment? If not how much space and time would you give a BR to return to first? Thanks |
|
|||
Was the rest of the team asleep, including the base coach? Maybe punch up your safe call to wake them?
![]() The tag is not valid, as the runner made no attempt to advance. So if F3 tags him and then he returns to the base, I've got him safe there. I seem to recollect for FED they haven't abandoned until they enter the dugout. Depending on the level, I might enforce the same way for OBR. But, as they say, you can't fix stupid.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I agree, the safe sign seems weak here however, in OBR if you felt that the runner abandoned the bag, he is out. Period, end of discussion, that is the rule and bottom line we HTBT otherwise.
I certainly hope we don't get into a discussion of how far EXACTLY this play happened from the bag or dugout. "Officials judgement" call here. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() I'm interpreting (although perhaps incorrectly) the runner is liable of being put out if he:
Am I off base with what 8-2-7 is saying? I think this rule nips in the butt the runner hanging out behind second for an unnecessary amount of time after overrunning first. -Josh |
|
|||
I think the attempt to advance mainly applies to an overthrow on a play attempt at 1B. Runner thinks he can make it to 2B...then thinks twice and retreats to 1B...he is liable to be tagged out. J/R says that 1 step (or more) toward 2B qualifies at a Feint or attempt to advance.
If he's heading back to the dugout in OBR, he's out. A little more hairy for FED...esp with the courtesy runner issue. Could be the crappy end of the stick...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
In OBR, I am not going to signal anything on the tag. BR touched 1B so why would there be a tag? It is not an appeal.
Once I deem him far enough for abandonment, I will make the out call. No call on the tag, out call on the abandonment. And, if he goes to 1B before I call him out for abandonment, then no call still.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Abandonment is correct call as runner left the base / basepath. Totally a judgement call by umpire. It would be considered desertion if batter-runner did same before reaching 1B. NFHS BR would have to reach deadball territory..Pro BR would only have to leave dirt area of plate.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Base abandonment? | legend | Baseball | 7 | Mon Jun 04, 2007 01:56pm |
D3K/ abandonment of base | Little Jimmy | Softball | 5 | Thu Apr 21, 2005 01:56pm |
Base Running and Abandonment | teacherspit | Baseball | 10 | Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:15am |
Abandonment | LDUB | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:59am |
End of Game Abandonment | TBBlue | Baseball | 14 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 02:26pm |