Thread: Abandonment???
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:01am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
As I envision the situation, I agree that the runner is liable to being tagged out. As you know, the runner after overrunning first "may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second" (NFHS 8-2-7). I believe the argument could very well be made that the runner, by going over to the first base coach, did not immediately return to 1b and is now liable to being tagged out.

Josh, you're not reading the the condition on the permission above. This runner made no move to 2B, and so he is still allowed to return to 1B (until you call him out for abandonment).
Reply With Quote