The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Abandonment???

Game last night I was BU. R2 so I am in C. BR hits grounder to short. Throw from short is low and not dug out by the first baseman. I call the runner safe. The runner apparently thought he was out and was walking back to the dugout where he was tagged (on the dugout side of the 1st base coaching box below the bag). I called him out. I got a mild argument for the O coach but nothing bad.

After the game I looked up abandonment in JR (which I don't have with me now) which says something to the effect that this would be abandonment if the BR has no intent of returning to the base. He had no intent until the first baseman ran over to tag him.

Would this be abandonment? If not how much space and time would you give a BR to return to first?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Was the rest of the team asleep, including the base coach? Maybe punch up your safe call to wake them?

The tag is not valid, as the runner made no attempt to advance. So if F3 tags him and then he returns to the base, I've got him safe there.

I seem to recollect for FED they haven't abandoned until they enter the dugout. Depending on the level, I might enforce the same way for OBR. But, as they say, you can't fix stupid.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
and was walking back to the dugout where he was tagged (on the dugout side of the 1st base coaching box below the bag).
That's far enough for abandonment for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Game last night I was BU. R2 so I am in C. BR hits grounder to short. Throw from short is low and not dug out by the first baseman. I call the runner safe. The runner apparently thought he was out and was walking back to the dugout where he was tagged (on the dugout side of the 1st base coaching box below the bag). I called him out. I got a mild argument for the O coach but nothing bad.

After the game I looked up abandonment in JR (which I don't have with me now) which says something to the effect that this would be abandonment if the BR has no intent of returning to the base. He had no intent until the first baseman ran over to tag him.

Would this be abandonment? If not how much space and time would you give a BR to return to first?

Thanks
As I envision the situation, I agree that the runner is liable to being tagged out. As you know, the runner after overrunning first "may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second" (NFHS 8-2-7). I believe the argument could very well be made that the runner, by going over to the first base coach, did not immediately return to 1b and is now liable to being tagged out.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
As I envision the situation, I agree that the runner is liable to being tagged out. As you know, the runner after overrunning first "may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second" (NFHS 8-2-7). I believe the argument could very well be made that the runner, by going over to the first base coach, did not immediately return to 1b and is now liable to being tagged out.

-Josh
Josh, you're not reading the the condition on the permission above. This runner made no move to 2B, and so he is still allowed to return to 1B (until you call him out for abandonment).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
I agree, the safe sign seems weak here however, in OBR if you felt that the runner abandoned the bag, he is out. Period, end of discussion, that is the rule and bottom line we HTBT otherwise.

I certainly hope we don't get into a discussion of how far EXACTLY this play happened from the bag or dugout. "Officials judgement" call here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
The offensive team was asleep as there was no 1st base coach. The game was played under OBR.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
As I envision the situation, I agree that the runner is liable to being tagged out. As you know, the runner after overrunning first "may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second" (NFHS 8-2-7). I believe the argument could very well be made that the runner, by going over to the first base coach, did not immediately return to 1b and is now liable to being tagged out.

-Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Josh, you're not reading the the condition on the permission above. This runner made no move to 2B, and so he is still allowed to return to 1B (until you call him out for abandonment).
I agree that it specifies "provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second" as a qualifier to the root of the sentence ("may immediately return without liability of being put out"). But not immediately returning to first, in the judgment of the umpire, is subjective, of course. Perhaps I'm picking apart a sentence that doesn't need to be picked apart

I'm interpreting (although perhaps incorrectly) the runner is liable of being put out if he:
  • Faints to Second
  • Attempts to advance
  • Does not return "immediately"

Am I off base with what 8-2-7 is saying? I think this rule nips in the butt the runner hanging out behind second for an unnecessary amount of time after overrunning first.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:58am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I think the attempt to advance mainly applies to an overthrow on a play attempt at 1B. Runner thinks he can make it to 2B...then thinks twice and retreats to 1B...he is liable to be tagged out. J/R says that 1 step (or more) toward 2B qualifies at a Feint or attempt to advance.

If he's heading back to the dugout in OBR, he's out. A little more hairy for FED...esp with the courtesy runner issue. Could be the crappy end of the stick...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
In OBR, I am not going to signal anything on the tag. BR touched 1B so why would there be a tag? It is not an appeal.

Once I deem him far enough for abandonment, I will make the out call.

No call on the tag, out call on the abandonment. And, if he goes to 1B before I call him out for abandonment, then no call still.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
In OBR, I am not going to signal anything on the tag. BR touched 1B so why would there be a tag? It is not an appeal.

Once I deem him far enough for abandonment, I will make the out call.

No call on the tag, out call on the abandonment. And, if he goes to 1B before I call him out for abandonment, then no call still.
At what point do call him out for abandonment?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:37am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
When in my judgement, he gives up his base. The rule is posted above.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
At what point do call him out for abandonment?
That is a debatable question.

What does immediately mean to you? As soon as he stops his momentum? Halfway to his dugout? In his dugout? Is it situational?

Since it just says "immediately", it is left up to interpretation at that point. For me, I would go with him being several steps beyond 1B on his way back to his dugout. But, I would also consider the situation.

If I have the winning run on 3B, 2 outs and I know calling an out for abandonment after reaching the next base is a timing issue, I am not calling the abandonment out until R3 crosses so his run counts. I will give more leeway in this situation just to end the game and prevent extra innings.

I may get flack for this but I will be the one going home when that run crosses.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:49am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
That's just it...this is pretty much umpire judgement other than at home plate where in OBR they give the hitter the "circle" and/or must make an immediate attempt to run to 1B when he's legally able to run to 1B. This is the type of call where we make the big bucks and the 1B coach is basically worthless and then they blame the umpire(s) for calling him out for abandonment.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
That is a debatable question.

What does immediately mean to you? As soon as he stops his momentum? Halfway to his dugout? In his dugout? Is it situational?

Since it just says "immediately", it is left up to interpretation at that point. For me, I would go with him being several steps beyond 1B on his way back to his dugout. But, I would also consider the situation.

If I have the winning run on 3B, 2 outs and I know calling an out for abandonment after reaching the next base is a timing issue, I am not calling the abandonment out until R3 crosses so his run counts. I will give more leeway in this situation just to end the game and prevent extra innings.

I may get flack for this but I will be the one going home when that run crosses.
So you're saying it depends on the situation. What kind of crap is that?? Oh yeah, it's called game management *For all of you that didn't catch that, I was being sarcastic in the first two sentences*

-Josh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base abandonment? legend Baseball 7 Mon Jun 04, 2007 01:56pm
D3K/ abandonment of base Little Jimmy Softball 5 Thu Apr 21, 2005 01:56pm
Base Running and Abandonment teacherspit Baseball 10 Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:15am
Abandonment LDUB Baseball 3 Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:59am
End of Game Abandonment TBBlue Baseball 14 Fri Jun 04, 2004 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1